>WIP Wednesdays an update.

>Three of my ongoing WIPS have been receiving love this week.
First, one Lenore is finished. As always, when I get through the lace cuff, the rest flies off the needles and it becomes a fast and even slightly boring knit. I am going to wait until the weekend to cast on the next one so I don’t have a whole day at work and a trip to the gym to contend with while I’m trying to cast on something that I find personally very challenging.

The spinning is going well and I have completed 1/2 of the roving in this colourway. I’m starting to fill the second bobbin and I’m hoping to start plying next week.

Lastly is my Urbana. Cognitively, I know that I am making progress on this. I have moved from the increase to the decrease section and I am using the second ball of “When I Bit Him.” I can see these things happening right before my eyes, and yet I am convinced that no real progress I being made. Somehow, this particular project is warping the time and space continuum, breaking the laws of physics, and many of Einstein’s Laws of Relativity. I pick this project up and somehow, magically, time stands still. I knit, I religiously decrease on each row, and yet I swear that each row is not taking any less time then they did 5 days ago. I am really beginning to believe that this is a life long knitting project and one day when I’m too old and sore and jaded to continue, I will have to find a much younger knitter who still has the stamina and vigor of youth to finish tackling this thing. Forget heirloom knitting, this is generational knitting. I am sticking with it and am hoping that one day soon I will have a finished Urbana to show you. Just don’t hold your breath. I’m not.  πŸ˜‰

So what WIP is currently going on forever in your world?

15 responses to “>WIP Wednesdays an update.

  • witchyknits4ewe

    >Lovely socks! Your spinning is gorgeous – I am way behind on my spinning – you've inspired me to get moving!!

  • Sandy

    >I feel like I'm in sock world as I make my rounds around wipw…everyone has socks or parts there off. lolLove the color your spinning, very pretty and reminds me of the setting sun.Urbana…had to laugh as I was reading for several reason, 1–I made a post on Urbana just recently on my travel blog, 2–I was born in Urbana. And talking about decreasing a and the rows I just did in my most recent post about a blanket…are we in each other's heads. lolGood luck with all your projects.Sandy

  • Charlotte

    >I'm loving the colour of your spinning… it's gorgeous.

  • Danielle

    >I'm really loving the colour yellow! and your spinning is gorgeous!my forever WIP is the knitted birthday cake! i am not feeling the love! lol

  • Carole

    >You did make me giggle about Urbana, I hope you 'see' the ending soon!

  • PandaBearofDoom

    >Your sock looks really good. And your spinning is amazing. I love the color.

  • Stitched Together

    >I'm sure the Urbana will succumb soon. I adore your spun yarn by the way – gorgeous colour.(from the ex-CraftyCripple)

  • Kathleen

    >Both the sock and the spinning are making me swoon a little—mmm, colours.And oh gosh, your description of the neverending Urbana made me giggle. I hope it will somehow speed up and finish itself while you're not even paying attention. Those things happen sometimes, right?

  • Nicky

    >Beat Urbana down with those needles … she will not get the better of you… LOL!!!The socks look great, I'm really loving the color!!!

  • Miffy

    >good luck with the Urbana. The sock looks fab πŸ™‚

  • Marushka C.

    >I've had Urbana-like projects, too. Suddenly you'll turn the corner though & the end will be in sight!Beautiful colors on everything. Your spun yarn is going to be fabulous.

  • Contessa

    >That sock is beautiful! I personally find almost everything about knitting socks challenging (although I spent several weeks on a ribbed cuff that got intensely boring).The WIP that's going on forever in my world is the one I started last week. I know it's not going on forever as I just started it — but I can tell with how long it's taking me to make progress even when I work diligently on it that it's going to be one of THOSE projects. I'd better start something smaller to keep my sanity. . .Best of luck finishing Urbana. πŸ™‚

  • Tami Klockau

    >Love your spinning! So beautiful, as is the sock, too!I'm sure you'll have no problem finishing the Urbana. πŸ™‚

  • paula

    >Yay socks! They seem to be everywhere this week. Sorry to hear that your shawl is a bit of a slog. I promise it actually *is* getting smaller, and soon it will even be noticeable. Hang in there — it's lovely!

  • Knitting Girl

    >Wow, those socks are nice! I ordered some yarn yesterday to try some sock knitting… But your yarn look much nicer πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

