Nerd Wars – An Update

Nerd Wars on Ravelry has moved into Round 2.  There are new challenges and new points to be earned for your team.  One challenge grabbed my attention right away.  It’s the “why are you on the wrong team” challenge.  You still get points for the actual team that you are on while creating something from another team. .  I’m on  Team Browncoats.  But, Team Browncoats wasn’t my first choice.  My first choice was Team HellMouth.  That’s the Buffy the Vampire Slayer inspired team.  Realistically I am happy to be on any Joss Whedon inspired team and since it’s all for fun it’s not all bad.

My problem is this.  Buffy has so many good knitting inspirations and Firefly is just not doing it for me.  I’ve already made 3 Jayne hats, and pair of fingerless Jayne mitts, (as I think they would appear), and a set of dinosaurs inspired by Wash’s collections.  Inara does wear many beautiful shawls but I don’t crochet and I don’t like knitting lace.  I think you can see my problem.  So that lead me straight into the arms of this challenge very nicely.

My Buffy inspired project, Mr. Pointy. (Though I will admit my first attempt resulted in something that could be more aptly described as Mr. Lumpy.)

That's Mr. Pointy in the middle of everything

Mr. Pointy turned out to be the perfect size for Stone from the first round of Nerd Wars.  And lets face it, even a gargoyle needs some protection from time to time.

So there it is in a nut shell.  I love Team Browncoats, but my heart is really with the Scoobie Gang!

One response to “Nerd Wars – An Update

Leave a Reply

