Sneaking this in……

Managing to sneak this in quick before we start loading the car and heading off to the wilderness for the next few days.  My husband and I both grew up in a place with a lot more trees then we have around us know so at least once a year we run off to the woods, pitch a tent, cover ourself in bug repellent and hang out by a campfire.

I love knitting by the campfire and I am using the next few days to work on YOP things.  For the five days that we are camping I am taking 2 squares from the log cabin, my Fishbone Gansey socks, my dad’s Urbana, the Duckies (socks that apparently can be knit in two days,) and my clockwork.  I do not expect to get this all finished while we are camping, but how frightening would it be to run out of knitting?  (I won’t mention that if memory serves there is a lovely little knitting store in the area right close to the field of sheep.  And there is an even lovelier knitting store in town.  Hmmmm…  *I don’t need more yarn. I don’t need more yarn*  🙂

I also have a secret weapon in my ability to knit more this year.  My friend Suzie was very sweet and gave me one of her extra sets of neck lights. I was having a really crappy day and when I asked her what I owed her for it (since I had originally told her I would buy one from her) she told me I owed her nothing more than a smile 🙂  (I did just about burst into tears at that moment.)

She loves hers and says it helps her knit much longer into the evening while she travels, and she travels for work a lot so I believe her.  They also have the added bonus of being extra lights while walking around the campgrounds at night.   Fortunately where we are going usually has nothing more fierce than raccoons and bullfrogs.  But it only takes one walk back to the campfire in the dead of night without extra lights and realization that there is a pack of wolves or coyotes in the area howling and baying, (it was really very beautiful,) to make you always want to take as many lights as possible with you when you leave the fire.

This was the first time I had a real chance to use my YOP binder and it was wonderful to have.  I packed the few projects that I knew I wanted, then opened my collection and was able to pull out two more and grab the yarn from my closet and Voila, knitting projects picked.  This whole being organized thing is kind of useful!

Anyway, I may try to throw up a picture post in the next few days, otherwise hope everyone has a great weekend and I’ll post when we get back.  Happy Knitting!!

12 responses to “Sneaking this in……

  • babygreens

    Have a lovely trip!

    I nearly ran out of crochet/knitting on a recent rained-on holiday and agree completely that it would be dreadful to run out. Love the light!

  • craftyclare

    Crafting and camping go very well together. The lights are fantastic. Enjoy your time by the campfire – I am very envious x

  • Christine

    Enjoy your camping trip. It’s great to be able to get away for a few days.

  • rugbymad

    Clever idea about the light! Need to add that to my list of goodies I need, for our drives down to the coast. Have a fantastic trip and come back super charged!

  • sandy

    What is YOP? I’m familiar with wip, fo, but yop? Knitting by the campfire, I wouldn’t attempt that. Need daylight for sure, plus I don’t want my yarn dirty. We used to camp sometime 2-3 wks at a time; but I never took yarn with me. Though I think I did do some in the car while we were traveling. Have a great trip, looking forward to some pictures. What’s an Urbana that you’re making for your Dad? I’d like to see that light in action, sounds like a neat idea. Let us know how it works for you.
    Year of Projects Challenge

  • Blueberry Tea

    Hope you have good week knitting. Enjoy the yarn shops too.x

  • Sarah - Crafts From The Cwtch

    Great lights!!!*adds to wishlist*

    Hope you have a great time away – sounds like your supreme organisation will have prepared you well. I must take a leaf from your book
    x

    • misty

      must have shiny new lights. I am a girl who considers a hotel w/o room service to be roughing it. I am also married to Joe Boyscout, perhaps if I took enough yarn with me, I could take the edge off. I also love that you are clever enough to plan your camping trips near a yarn store.

  • littlerabbitgirl

    Oh that light looks like a fab idea! I may have to invest in one as we have been having a few power outages of late.

  • Alittlebitsheepish

    The knitting light looks very handy, and I am impressed by your organisation skills

  • Evelyn

    What a great post!! Enjoy your campfire knitting and your time away. I love how organized you are … I hadn’t even thought of creating a YOP binder but it’s on my “to-do” list this week in anticipation of a two-week holiday by both a beach and a lake.

  • Michelle

    I’m melancholy with jealousy! I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to run into the embrace of mother nature right now! I grew up camping and hiking as well, and city living definitely leaves me missing the county!
    I’m going to have to find a neck light! It never even occurred to me that such a thing existed! I hope you have a wonderful and relaxing trip!

Leave a Reply

