Home from the forest

We survived another camping trip intact and have returned to civilization where making coffee is as simple as flicking a switch and my indoor plumbing is a mere few steps away from my bed. My bed felt great last night and I was fairly confident in the knowledge that I was not going to be woken up by either raccoons or chipmunks snuffling around my sleeping quarters. We did  have a great time. We had close to prefect weather and aside from the first night, (no one should ever have to hear a dance remix of Rolling in the Deep let alone at 2:15 a.m. while lying in your tent,) where sleep was a little hard to come by, we had good camping neighbors.
I had to break down and leave my Victoria at home since there was no room in the car for it. But I did get a lot of knitting done. All Year of Projects stuff and of the five projects I took, (you never know what you will be in the mood to knit,) three had attention given to them.
There was knitting by the fire.

Dad's Urbana in its infancy

And knitting in the dark.

The neck light was very helpful

And knitting in the car. You just have to trust me on that one. The Urbana for my Dad went from barely started to mostly finished. The first leg and heel turn of my Duckies was completed. And another blanket square was finished.
I snuck in a quick trip to Rose Haven and picked up three lovely spinning batts. (Sorry, the picture of the last one is pretty crummy). 

And I even met two very lovely goats named Knit & Purl.

My friend feeding the goats

One morning during every camping trip we walk  20 minutes to the little cantina and drink our morning coffee on the day use beach before the people arrive. It’s one of my favourite moments in every trip. Just me, my husband, and the waves. It’s one of the rare times when being up at 7 a.m. is enjoyable.

I'm not sure why I thought posing for a photo at 7 a.m. was a good idea

We wandered over to the sand dunes this year, (there was no knitting at the dunes,) and climbed up to the top. The view was great and worth the effort.

 

From the bottom

From the top

Over all a lovely camping trip and a nice way to relax for a few days. Now, I’m getting another cup of easily obtained coffee.

6 responses to “Home from the forest

Leave a Reply

