A Conflict of Interests – A Mystery KAL Update

This may come to  a surprise to those of you who don’t know me personally, but I am not a patient person.  My DH will support me on this.  I hate waiting, I hate wasting time, and sitting and doing “nothing” does not come easily for me.  I always chuckle when people say that they don’t have the patience to knit, ’cause really, neither do I.  I only have a smidgen of patience in my non-professional life most days because I knit.   To further that theory, I am not a lace knitter.  I’ve tried.  I really have.  A little lace within a project is fine, but a full lace shawl or garment will never happen for me.  I admire lace from a distance.  Whenever I have tried to knit large amounts of lace I get frustrated with it very quickly and toss it aside for something that I actually enjoy knitting.  I do not have the patience to see how the fiddly little stitches are going to assemble themselves and you don’t want to be around me if  I’ve  have made an error and had to rip things back.  (The very irrational person that we all have hiding in the deep dark place in our heads pops out and takes over for a moment and it is really not a pretty sight.)

I’m sure that right about now a few of you are thinking “That’s nice.  What does this have to do with the KAL? ‘Cause really that’s what you advertised up there in the title bar and now you’re trying my patience just a little by not making good on your promise.”  Well, let me assure you there is a point to this.

The KAL is KILLING ME!!!!!!!!!!  Just to clarify, the problem is I want to knit it NOW!  All of it, now in front of me, so my busy little hands can knit it all up and I can have the finished product to ooh and ahh over.  (It’s Stephen West, I’m gonna ooh and ahh, it’s a given.)  But nooooooo.   I signed up to get a clue a week and the first clue has come and gone and the knitting for it is finished and now the caked up balls of yarn and the tiniest little start of the shawl are sitting there on the end of the coffee table taunting and mocking me.

That's them. Such a tease!

And my patience is faltering. And I’m going just a little mad.  And there is not a freaking thing I can do about it except stare at the yarn and hope that maybe Stephen West has some sort of telepathic powers and can hear my pleading thoughts from a whole other country begging him to post the clue just a little early so I stop making myself nutters with anticipation.  You see, I am not patient.  I’m really not.  I just never thought a Mystery KAL would be the place that took my patience (or lack of it) to the outer rim of my tolerance.  And yet, here I am teetering on the verge of a total meltdown because I really want to be knitting and instead the best thing I can think of to do is advertise my special brand of crazy right here for all of you to read.  Sigh.

If you’ll excuse me now, I think I might go take a ball of Noro and sit in the corner for a while.   That will surely make me feel better and hold me over until the next clue comes in 🙂

Update: I have the next clue.  *Chuckles madly to self and runs off to my yarn*

2 responses to “A Conflict of Interests – A Mystery KAL Update

Leave a Reply

