WIP Wednesdays – I Really Need to Figure Out This Spinning Thing

I love to spin.  I love the meditative process of sitting at my wheel and turning fleece into yarn.  Give me a perfectly chilled glass of buttery Chardonnay to go with it and I get to have my own little piece of heaven right there in front of me.  I have lots of pretty fleece that is waiting for my attention and any time I’m at one of my wheels spinning I remember why I love it so and always think that I need to spend more time spinning than I do.  For some reason though, it always seems to be lower on the list of my priorities then sitting and knitting.  So my spinning suffers and my fleece stays fleece.  I just can’t seem to focus on my spinning.  (Yes, I know how many WIPS I have on the needles.  I do see a direct correlation between my hummingbird level of attention to my knitting focus and my inability to finish a spinning project.  I’m scattered, not clueless.)  Somehow I do manage to find a way to accomplish something from time to time and I have finished spinning all of this fleece onto two bobbins.

I even know what I want to make with this! I'm pretty sure there's enough here for fingerless gloves.

And, here’s the super exciting part.  I have a plan.  A well thought out plan to finish this before the end of the month.  My intention is to find 20 minutes three times a week to spin.  That works out to an hour a week.  I plan other things every week, so my intention is to plan this too.  If I can feed myself, hold down a full-time job, spend time with my husband, and run 20 k in a week I can spin for an hour.

So, wish me luck, and hopefully soon this will be finished and hanging to dry and please feel free to harass me a little about my spinning from time to time.  apparently I need a good kick in the pants occasionally.  Just don’t kick too hard or I won’t be able to sit at the wheel.

Don’t forget to check out more WIP Wednesday over at Tamis blog

12 responses to “WIP Wednesdays – I Really Need to Figure Out This Spinning Thing

Leave a Reply

