Celebrating Autumn: or It’s Really Perfect Knitting Weather

I love Autumn.  The air becomes a little nippy in the morning and you have to think about grabbing one of your shawls or sweaters before racing out the door.  You need to trade in the open-toed sandals for cozy handknit socks and shoes.  It’s the time of year when the nights get cooler and sleeping gets easier.

And then there’s all the colours.  The autumn colours are stunning.  I will never grow tired of the leaves turning bright red and orange.  I could walk for hours through the ravines and valleys and find inspiration in almost everything I see.

I also think it’s the perfect time of year for knitters.  The weather causes thoughts of blankets and cardigans and warm fuzzy socks.  It becomes reasonable to knit something other than  a dishcloth or a sock because the idea of having something sitting on your lap while you knit doesn’t mean that you will overheat or become dehydrated due to the amount of sweat pouring off your body and into your wool.  And let’s face it, wet soggy wool is not really the best smelling thing, especially when it’s sitting in your lap.  I won’t tell you what my husband says about the smell, but he loves me enough to tolerate it and not complain too much.  (He knows how to behave if he wants the knitted goods to keep coming his way.)

This year autumn came in with a vengeance.  It was cold and raining.  It started raining at 11:30 in the morning and by 2 pm I was pretty sure that I should be trying to figure out how to build a kayak just so I could get home.  I did at one point realize that if I was at home I could just knit a cardigan and then I’d be warm.  (Because I, like very other cold knitter, believe that I can knit a cardigan at a moments notice instead of getting one out of the closet.)

But autumn is here and it seems like a good excuse to host a giveway.  Up for grabs is one skein of Sheep Shop Yarn Company’s Sheep Number Three.  It’s a wool/silk blend and 325 yards.  It’s really soft and not rough at all.  I’ve had this in my stash for a very long time and it’s pretty clear that I’m never going to use it for anything. I’d really like to see it go to a good home and be turned into something pretty.

(I tried to make this big enough so you can clearly read the tag)

IMG_0903

To enter all you have to do is a leave a comment on this post by 11:59 pm on Friday October 7th.  The winner will be picked by a random number generator, (a.k.a my husband,) and announced on Saturday October 8th.  Please ensure that I have a way to contact you if you are the winner.

Happy Autumn and good luck.

25 responses to “Celebrating Autumn: or It’s Really Perfect Knitting Weather

Leave a Reply

