Holiday Knitting Survival Tip #3

Tip #3; T.V. & Movie Marathons Can Be a Life Saver

I don’t care how much you love to engage in your fibre art of choice, or how much you love the person you’re knitting for.  At some point during the whole holiday knitting process you will hate something that you are working on.  But you will realize that the person you are knitting it for will love it.  Or you don’t have a back-up plan.  Or that the thought of frogging back all that work, even though you may hate it, is considering making you go to the liquor store at 10 a.m. to buy a bottle of Jack Daniels.  (I suppose drinking a bottle of JD at 10 a.m. would cause you significant pain of a very different sort later in the day.)  I promise that you will, or you already have, disliked a gift you are knitting that much.  (No, I have not drunk a bottle of JD at 10 a.m.  I have never drunk a whole bottle of J.D.  I don’t think my stomach would like that too much and I know my head wouldn’t.  Have you ever tried knitting with a brutal hangover?) Anyway, leaving the things I may or may not have done behind, before I get myself in more trouble,  let’s move onto the tip of the week, shall we.

T.V. and movie marathons will be your life saver.  Whatever it is that you like to watch will distract you enough during those dark knitting times that you may in fact be able to finish whatever it is that you are working on.  What you choose  to watch is up to you.  However,  I suggest watching something that you have already seen, and staying away from subtitles.  The point here is to watch something that will distract you without fully engaging you, and will allow you to get through the “boring stuff” that you are knitting, without tearing at your hair, bursting into tears, or tossing the knitting into the oven and turning it on just to see if it will burn.  Depending on my mood I have had knitting marathons that include everything from Stardust and Dirty Dancing to The Walking Dead and The Crazies.  Buffy, Firefly, Generation Kill, Dr. Who, and Dead Like Me have all served me well, and the second season of Fringe is the only reason my Lady Eleanor ever saw the light of day.  What I’m really trying to say is find something you love watching, be it mushy romance or slasher flicks, load up, and knit away.  Just try to remember to get up and walk around from time to time.  Numb bum really is no fun.

The Fine Print
The tips revealed in this blog are for entertainment value only, and do not represent the views or opinions of the blogger, the blog host, or indeed of any known living being.  Certainly not any sane ones.  The use of these tips indicates your acceptance that there is no warranty, express or implied, that following these tips will have any effect whatsoever on your level of holiday stress.  This will all end in tears.   
8 responses to “Holiday Knitting Survival Tip #3

  • Natalie

    Excellent tip – Buffy, Angel, Firefly, Dead Like Me and the Walking Dead also feature on my knitting marathon list 😉 Along with House, Bones, Castle, The Good Wife… Why yes, I do do much of my knitting in front of the TV!

  • Michelle

    These are words to live by, for all knitting! I seriously have pounded through more series on Netflix while knitting than I ever would have sat and watched otherwise….maybe that’s not a good thing?? 🙂

  • Marsha N

    You are a wise woman. Thanks for that advice. (the one about JD at 10 in the morning) I love to knit infront of the TV. Makes hubby think I am spending quality time with him when actually I am trying not to throw the never ending scarf/shawl/sweater project in the trash.

  • AC

    Netflix Instant streaming is my copilot!

  • myknittingcircle

    This is hilarious! I’ve knitted while high on pain killers after foot surgery; and, you should see THAT dishcloth! It’s a little on the crooked side. 🙂 And if I’m doing lace, it had better be a movie I have already seen. About 16 times. Have fun!!

  • Kim

    So funnny–and I agree, numb bum = no fun.
    *smiles*

  • sparklesness

    Knitting makes all the time I spend watching TV seem productive.
    Which is a lot of time.

    🙂

  • bigmonkeypie

    This is totally my year-round knitting strategy, since my husband sleeps much later than I do on the weekends. The last few weeks it’s been Farscape, but I’m nearing the end of season 4, so I need to find a new detective series on Netflix to get me through the Fall.

Leave a Reply

