Exciting News and a Wonderful Giveway

I am very fortunate to be friends with a wonderful woman named Tanya.  She is the same person who turned me onto the felted mice.  She is highly creative, a wonderful cook, and has an infectious laugh.  She has also been working very hard over the last few months to create an Etsy store.

Tanya suffers from a Gluten intolerance, and because she is Tanya, it is not enough to remove gluten from her food.  She wanted to remove it from her beauty products as well.  She quickly realized that Gluten Free products of any kind are not very readily available, and Gluten Free skin care products are even rarer.  So, (again, because she’s Tanya) she decided to make them herself.  For months she has been creating items and giving them to her close friends for testing. (because why make a half pound of soap, really, when it’s just as easy to make 5 pounds.  Or 10.)  I have been the recipient of many wonderful items over the last few months and have not had to spend a cent on creams, lotions, lip balms, or soaps.  I have even finally found a cream that can deal with how brutally dry my hands get in the winter!

Lip Balm. A year of it.

Just a few soaps…

In the final stage before packaging

After many months of encouragement, and a little outright nagging,  Tanya finally decided to start planning to make an etsy store to sell her products, before she made enough soap that she can’t get into her kitchen any more.  It has to go somewhere, and a person can only take so many showers.  We have watched her one bedroom flat slowly transform into a  beauty lab filled with bases and essential oils.  And finally, after months of preparation and work her store will finally be going live!

Tanya uses all natural ingredients whenever possible and her products are vegan.  All the items are hand-crafted in her kitchen.

Eucalyptus drying out

We are all very proud of her and to help the celebration Tanya has kindly donated three sets of her soap to be shipped off to three lucky readers.

I will announce the winners on Saturday October 29th and post a link to her store.  This means that your comments will need to be in before 11:59 on Friday October 28th.  There are no shipping restrictions and I am happy to ship world-wide.  All you have to do is leave a comment congratulating Tanya on her achievement at the end of this post to be entered.  A random number generator (a.k.a my husband) will determine the winners.  Please ensure that I have an email, blog link, or Ravelry handle in order to contact you if you win.  Also, please inform me if you have any allergies to any specific plants.  She uses pure essential oils and hydrosols and if for example you have an allergy to roses a soap with rose oil in it may cause an allergic reactions.  

Set Number One: Moonlight Lavender (Dark), Calendula, & Lemon Eucalyptus

Set Number Two: Essence of Chocolate, Moonlight Lavender (Light), & Calendula

Set Number Three: Essence of Chocolate, Field of Roses, & Citrus Zing

Best of luck to everyone.

27 responses to “Exciting News and a Wonderful Giveway

  • Emma

    Wow, those look amazing. I can’t eat gluten, and never thought that it might be in beauty products. It’s a really clever idea, and my gosh has she made a lot of soap already. i wish her lots of sucess!

  • Natalie

    What a great idea – congrats to Tanya for coming up with it and seeing it through. I love this about creative people – if there is something that we want, we can make it ourselves and know exactly the quality and what has gone into it.

    (re: allergies, I’m allergic to lavender, mint and aloe vera – if that’s awkward then please feel free to count me out of the giveaway, I wanted to comment to say congrats to Tanya more than anything!)

  • Tink

    What a fantastic idea – I am curious to hear if removing the gluten from non-food products really does make a difference, as I have a LOT of gluten-intolerant friends!

  • Liz

    What a brilliant idea! Go Tanya!

  • Melinda

    So cool. Congrats on the etsy store Tanya! I’m sure it will be a great success!

  • Calophi

    Congrats to Tanya! Make sure you share the new Etsy store with us when it goes up. I’m definitely interested in products like this.

  • Ginger

    That’s great, Congrats Tanya! My boyfriend’s daughter can’t have gluten (or dairy) and these would make a great gift for her.

    Rav: GingerLee25

  • Sharon

    Awesome, Tanya!! I am gluten free as well and never thought about my soap!!

  • geeky Heather

    Congratulations to Tanya!! I have a couple friends who are gluten-free and I’d love to pass these on to them (OK, I’ll be honest; if I got one of the sets with chocolate, I’d totally keep that bar for myself 😉

  • Debbie Hallamek

    I would love to try them! thanks so much! Debbie H

  • Kathryn | Alpacamundo

    Wow! That’s quite an accomplishment. Congrats to your friend Tanya and how lucky for you to be a tester for her. 🙂

  • Vanessa

    Good for you Tanya and best of luck!

  • Knitting Nedjmi

    There are never enough natural products. congrats on the business!

  • Gracey

    Awesome job Tanya! I’d love to try the soaps, as we are big on handmade soap,,,,I’d also give one to a friend’s daughter who also has a gluten allergy…I think she’d enjoy it..

  • evelyn

    I don’t think this is just a coincidence that you should post about Tanya’s wonderful work in natural products. I have been searching for natural beauty and health products for a while and am so happy to see that your friend is taking things into her own hands — Kudos to Tanya! Soap is one of my favorite products and these look heavenly.

  • bigmonkeypie

    Congratulations, Tanya! Those all sound lovely. I’m not gluten intolerant but I’m trying to find safer, gentler skincare products these days. Good to know there will be another shop to check out soon.

  • Suzy

    Congrats on your new venture, Tanya! I have great admiration for people willing to try new things to work around any problem and having attempted to go gluten free myself (and failed miserably) I have at least a smidgen of n idea what you’re up against! Way to not back down

  • Christine

    Congratulations Tanya! I have lots of people I can suggest your store to! I know many people that have themselves or their children on GF (and CF) diets!

    Rav Id – mmmyc6

  • Kenoshia

    Congrats Tanya! It’s very considerate for her to share what she does, especially for those who are gluten-free. The store is a great idea!

    RAV: ruebee

  • Underground Crafter

    Congrats to Tanya – soapmaking is SO fun! I wish I had the apartment set up to continue making soap and wish you the best in your endeavors. Thanks for offering the giveaway harleagh!

  • myknittingcircle

    Congratulations, Tanya! I know this takes a lot of perseverance and effort on your part! I’m sure this is a niche that has been waiting on someone to fill. Good luck with marketing and sales!

  • Paula Morales

    Go Tanya!! I had no idea there was gluten in beauty products!! This will be a great find on Etsy for sure. This is an awesome giveaway!

  • Debby

    wow what an amazing find…I’ve been looking for products that genuinely are free from aditives. Some advertise as though they are and then you find out they just snook something horrible in their without you noticing…

    Wanted to thank you for the versatile blogger award too Keri that was a lovely surprise for me…thank so much
    Deb
    :o)

  • Anastacia

    This is really, really awesome, as I also can’t have gluten & I’m still learning the ins & outs of it. I admit I never even thought of beauty products! I do have a ton of allergies, but none that I think would be used to scent soaps. Thanks for having this giveaway & telling us about it on ravelry, too! (I’m anastaciaknits there)

  • napiligal

    Who knew there was Gluten in soap (except for Tanya). All the assortments look wonderful. What a treat it would be to have some of her products. Best whishes for a successful business venture!

  • sillylittlelady

    Congratulations Tanya! What an amazing achievement, you should feel very proud of yourself 🙂 A unique, inventive solution and one of a kind products – match made in heaven.

  • Michelle

    Lots of luck to Tanya, and wishing for her success! (I like the look of the soap already–labels look nice, the bars themselves look solid and good, and I wouldn’t be afraid to use them. :D)

Leave a Reply

