On My Needles & Between my Pages.

On My Needles

The second round of Nerd Wars started today and this will be my entry into the Winter is Coming Category.

IMG_0759

I know that it doesn’t look like much now, but it will be a Windchief hat for my Dad to go with the Urbana that I already finished for him.  Since he lives in a tiny little town in the freezing North of Canada I can’t think of anyone who needs a toasty warm hat more.  (Expect maybe my Uncle who walks Pooch everyday with my Dad while he walks Maggie.)

I am also toying with the crazy idea of attempting to participate in NaKniSweMo (National Knit a Sweater Month.) Just toying.  Not really seriously considering.  In fact I am only probably even thinking about this because I just returned from my first real run in almost two months and my legs are sore and I’m too freaking hungry to be thinking clearly.  But the soup is on the stove in the kitchen and that would require me to move and I may not at have made it clear just how sore running 4k/6.5miles actually made my legs tonight.  Lactic acid is not my friend and it’s my own fault for not running regularly for all of October.  Sigh.

Between my Pages

 

I have started reading Day After Night by Anita Diamant.   I anticipated a well written, thought provoking read, and this book is not disappointing.   Diamant has a wonderful gift for being able to transport her readers into the world that she is writing about. You can see what is happening as you read it. You can hear the characters voices, and share their experiences.  It is easy to lose yourself in the pages of this book.   The content of the book is both grim and uplifting at the same time, as her four main characters (all young Jewish women)  try to come to grips with their wartime experiences and start a new life in Palestine.  I highly recommend reading this book.

For more WIPS and Reading check out Tami’s WIP Wednesday post and Jenny Yarn A-Long.

Update: Logic has set in.  There will be no NaKniSweMo in my house right now.  Maybe next year.

14 responses to “On My Needles & Between my Pages.

Leave a Reply

