On My Needles & Between My Pages

On My Needles

This week, I have out of necessity, stopped ignoring a relatively long time WIP.  Astrick has been pulled back out of the knitting basket and is receiving attention again because Christmas is coming and this is going to my MIL.  Unfortunately, for me this knit comes with an added dose of stress and confusion.  Let me start by making it clear that it has nothing to do with the intended recipient.  I like my MIL.  We get along very well.  It has mostly to do with the construction of the shawl.  I just don’t get it.  I can’t seem to wrap my brain around the way that it works so I have no idea of I’m doing things correctly.  The first wing was “completed” when I realized that I misread one of the direction in the pattern and that the only way to fix it was to frog back the whole side and do it again.  Trust me, that didn’t help me understand the pattern construction.  So now I’ve moved onto the second wing and the only thing that is certain is that I am working the wing on the right side.  I’m concerned that I am working the wing backwards. I’m concerned that I have somehow managed to screw this up so signficantly that I will run out of yarn before it’s done.  And I am dreading having to work more I-cord bind off when the wing is finished.  I love the way that i-cord bind off looks and I hate having to do it in this pattern because of all the wrapped stitches.  Being stuck in a room with no coffee or knitting and being forced to watch Will Ferrel movies is a fairly good comparison as to how much I hate doing this i-cord bind off.  Once I know if I’ve worked the last wing properly I know that my stress level will decrease significantly.  It unfortunately appears that the only way I will know is by working on it and keeping my fingers crossed.  Send some good knitting vibes my way please.

Between My Pages
I have finished Anita Diamant’s Day After Night.  It is a wonderful read.  If you are a fan of historical women’s fiction then I highly recommend this book.  Do be warned, I did have a hard time getting through the last few pages as my eyes keep welling up with tears and it was a little hard to actually see the pages!  I have now read two of her four works of fiction, (The Red Tent being the first), and they are both stunningly well done.  I will be hunting down her other two novels in the near future.

I have moved on to Carol Shield’s The Stone Diaries.  It a piece of Canadian fiction about the life of one women in the 1900’s.  I’m not too far into the novel and it is taking place in Manitoba.  I always have mixed feelings about reading Canadian based novels.  In recent years, most books have been very well written and worth the read.   But I think I still have a slight Canadian book hangover from being forced to read Canadian literature in high-school that  I had no real interest in.  I have always loved to read but I remember having to slog through The Stone Angel all to well and I firmly believe that time does not in fact heal all wounds when it comes to being force feed authors while in the school system.  So, as usual I am approaching this piece of Canadian based literature with slightly bated breath and hoping that it’s worth my time.  (Just for the record Margaret Atwood is one of my favourite authors.  The Gargoyle also written by a Canadian is worth every page.  I do enjoy Canadian Literature and hope one day to overcome my personal hesitations.)

For more  Wednesday knitting and reading check out Tami’s WIP Wednesday post and the Yarn Along.

9 responses to “On My Needles & Between My Pages

  • Natalie

    Sending much mojo for the shawl to be absolutely correct (and that room with no knitting and constant Will Ferrell sounds like hell to me, so I may now have to avoid anything with an icord bind off!)

  • Joy

    I have a hard time knitting patterns when I can’t figure out what they’re doing too. I hope it comes together for you without any more trouble!

  • cleancup

    Are there any helpful comments/hints from people who have knit it before? I have such empathy for what you’re going through! When I first started knitting seriously I attempted a shawl that was so poorly explained I almost put away my needles for good! Sending you happy, successful thoughts 🙂

  • affiknitty

    Sorry the shawl is such tough going! Is it too late too knit something else for her? Thank you for the book recommendations. (Even though I like both Will Ferrel and knitting I-cords, I suspect we have similar reading tastes, as I enjoyed The Red Tent and also love Margaret Atwood!) ; )

  • collegeknitting

    I hate it when I can’t figure out how a pattern is constructed- I can’t fix it in my head, and then I get stressed, too…it’s sad to say, but I do a lot of frogging on those.

  • Vanessa

    Good knitting mojo coming your way! I’m also nursing a Canadian hangover because I’ve been gorging myself on LM Montgomery’s stuff.

  • Minding My Own Stitches

    Can’t offer much help with the shawl instructions, just all my wishes for luck. I loved The Stone Diaries. I’m reading a Canadian author too right now – Patrick de Witt’s The Sisters Brothers. It’s odd but I’m really enjoying it!

  • Becks

    Eek at the room with no knitting, scary thought.
    Hope the shawl all comes together for you.
    xx

  • Underground Crafter

    That’s a bummer about the pattern. I hope this next part works out better, with no (or less) frogging!

Leave a Reply

