Never Say Never When it Comes to Knitting

Over my years as a knitter I have learned to never say never.  First I said I would never knit a Clapotis ’cause I just didn’t get it.  Then I knit one and ended up knitting three more for gifts that same year.  But that time the Clapotis band wagon was long gone and I was left standing in the gently settling dust with my very pretty knitting.

Then I said I would never be  a sock knitter.  Um, well, I have a small sock yarn addiction and own about 7 pairs of handknit socks.  I’ve also joined  the 26 pair plunge challenge and have at least four pairs on the needles.  Then, once I accepted that I was in fact a sock knitter, I said to my husband that I didn’t understand why people would knit complicated cables and lace for socks.  It just didn’t make sense.  At this point I need to consider just how much energy you as the reader would be willing to spend on this blog post.  Lets just say I’ve had to eat a lot of crow on that last point.

Now I have something else to add to that list.  I can never say I will not knit earwarmers in the shape of elf ears.  Yes, you read that correctly, I am knitting elf ears.  These certainly weren’t on the Year of Project list when I made it in June and really the thought of knitting elf ears never really entered my brain.  But, now I’m doing my second Nerd Wars and one of the challenges is to learn something about a different team.  And as it turns out, my partner for a different challenge is from Team Epic, (I’m on Team Hellmouth.)  And she designed and knit a pair of elf ear-warmers and she was kind enough to pass the pattern on to me.

I’ll let you know how they turn out.  I’m told they will be a very fast knit and everyone needs warm ears.  Warm, slightly pointy ears.

4 responses to “Never Say Never When it Comes to Knitting

Leave a Reply

