On My Needles and Between my Pages January 4th

On My Needles

As I mentioned earlier in the week, I have decided to participate in the 12 shawls in 2012.  For my first addition I have cast on Sharktooth by Stephen West.  I doesn’t take much of a read through the back entries of my blog or a very long glance at my Ravelry project page to know that I am a huge fan of  his patterns.  I love them to the point of almost knitting nothing else.  When I cast on something new there’s a pretty good chance the pattern will be his.  It just clicks with me and I enjoy knitting it.  So believe me when I say that this pattern has the most obnoxious 2nd set-up row of anything I have ever knit by Mr.West.  I think at one point I had more markers then stitches and there was no love for the design or the man at that moment.  Anyway, with a little focus and a few words unbecoming of a lady and a second cast on, I got it right and am now working my way through the first section.  I love the way the colour is playing up in the yarn and am going to be happy to move onto to section two.

Between My Pages

I took a little break form the Hunger Games trilogy to sneak in All Wound Up by Stephanie Pearl-Mcphee.  Initially I was a little concerned about this book.  The opening stories weren’t captivating me the way they normally do.  And even though I could literally hear Stephanie’s voice in my ears while I was reading, ( I am fortunate to share a LYS with her and sometimes we end up at the same knit night), there was just something missing from this book.  And then I made it the fourth story entitled Personal Filters and  started laughing so hard that I choked on my drink and gave myself an asthma attack.  And just like that, I couldn’t stop reading.  As always our beloved Harlot is able to mix humour and personal reflection in a way that makes you feel like you are getting insight into her own world.  Her writing is publicly relevant and highly personal at the same time.   It’s true that a non-knitter wouldn’t “get” everything that she writes about.  But I am kind of assuming that if you are currently reading this you are a fibre person and therefore will find great humour in what she writes.  The book (being a collection of short stories or essentially long blog entries) is a fast read and very easy to pick up and (slightly harder) to put down.  It’s great when you have five minutes to spare or you’re stuck in transit for 1/2 an hour.  I absolutely recommend this to all knitters/crocheters/spinners.  You’ll find yourself in the pages of this book and have a good laugh at the same.

For more great Wednesday Stuff check out WIP Wednesday and the Yarn Along.

13 responses to “On My Needles and Between my Pages January 4th

  • Knittin' in Britain

    I’ll be joining you on the 12 Shawls in 2012 Challenge. I did it last year, (11 shawls was the challenge, of course), and ended up making eighteen, which to anyone but a knitter might be considered embarrassing.

    I also love Stephen West projects. It was a “WestKnits Christmas” at my house this year — the family is really me and a bunch of guys and he has the best patterns for men. I made the Clockwork as a gift for a male friend last year. I must say it was fabulous and I’d like to make one for myself someday!

    Happy Knitting!

  • kristieinbc

    Thanks for the encouragement to persevere with the Yarn Harlot’s new book. I love all of her work, and have read and reread all of her previous books. I started this one and had the same reaction as you, put it aside, and haven’t touched it since. I will have to give it another try. Happy New Year!

  • Vanessa

    I love the Yarn Harlot’s writing but sometimes I find myself either skimming over stories or just skipping them all together. When she gets it right for me, she leaves me in stitches. And when she misses, she really misses. I feel the same way about David Sedaris. They’re funny people, just not all of the time. And I kind of like that about them.

  • KT

    I am a recent discoverer of the Yarn Harlot. I listened to one of the audiobook versions of her book, as read by her. I’ve not noticed any misses with me yet, she cracks me up so I’m working my way through some of her other books now.

  • Marie/Underground Crafter

    Good luck with your challenge, but I have a feeling that 12 shawls is very easily within your capabilities!

  • chrisknits

    I am going for 12 in 12 too. I accomplished 11 in 11, so I must see if I can improve on that. Casting on #1 today. Summer Shawlette in a larger version. That means I need to be focused in January!

  • Michelle

    I’m also reading The Harlot’s latest book! I need to dedicate a lot more time towards knitting this year! I’ve really become a slacker in the literacy department. And, I’m also a huge fan of Stephen West and his incredible designs… still not confident in my ability to knit a shawl, but I’ll get there some day. 😀

  • Karen

    I have the Yarn Harlot’s new book on my wish list. I’m glad to hear it had you laughing out loud.
    You are so ambitious to knit 12 shows over the next year! I can’t wait to watch your progress and cheer you on.

  • Emma

    That shawl is a gorgeous colour, it’s going to look great. I might actually knit a shawl this year. And I never know whether to try the yarn harlot’s book, as I’m not a huge fan of her blog, shocking I know.

  • Leslie

    My daughters and I took a sock class from the Harlot – lots of fun.
    Comparing shawls mine is so simple, but just right for me!

  • Amy

    Sounds like the book should carry a health warning! – I’ve never heard of Stephen West Patterns until reading this blog post – I’m intrigued and will look up, thanks for the recommendation. Wishing you no more troubles with it!

  • Beth

    12 shawls in 12 months?! You are more optimistic than I am. I’m sure you will succeed. I’m not so sure I would. Good luck!

  • Kim

    My first shawl ever was a West knit–I really liked it and just the other day I favorited a slouchy hat by him which I think one of my boys would like. I am jealous that at the end of the year you will have 12 new shawls-the color you are using is gorgeous too! I will definitely need to look into that book–I have a couple of other little books about knitting but they are not necessarily funny.
    Have a wonderful last part of the week–
    *smiles*

Leave a Reply

