What the Hell is Tardis Blue Anyway?

That’s the question I asked myself when I first saw this yarn.  A beautiful shade of blue named Tardis.    It never stayed on the Indigodragonfly site for long and was always sold out before I had a chance to buy it.  I asked my husband what the name meant and he just shrugged his shoulders and we agreed that it must be some shade of blue that we were both unfamiliar with.  (Apparently this is much worse if you are the person who is dying the yarn and when asked to create a Tardis yarn you stare blankly at the person making the request).  It was eventually explained to me that it was a Dr. Who thing.  That still meant almost nothing to me as up until that point the only memory I had about it was the theme music from the early 1980’s scaring the crap out of me and my father no longer being able to bare the scene when his young daughter lost her little kiddy marbles all over the carpet every time the show came on.  Eventually he just gave up and stopped trying to watch it.  (I hope he gets reruns of it now.  I also have no idea what about the music reduced me to tears.  But it did.)

So I bought the yarn.  Not really caring that it was a Dr. Who thing and still not really understanding what a Tardis was.  But the yarn  came home and was destine to be Reunion Cowl.  Then a few months later I heard the line that changed it all for me.  “Whatever you do, don’t blink.”  So now, less than a year later, we are almost finished the fourth season and I am trying to prepare myself for the end of the Tenth Doctor.  And even though I have been told that the 11th Doctor is wonderful, I’m still dreading the change over.  It took me half a season to warm up to Tennant after Christopher Eccelston left.  But now that I like Tennant I hate the thought of anyone else taking over. Lets be honest Matt Smith looks like he’s 12.  Tennant has an odd charismatic sexiness that  Smith just can’t have. But I’ll have to give him a chance.

David Tennant as Dr. Who

Anyway, back to the knitting.  So the first thing that happened was my Tardis yarn went missing.  It resulted in me having to tear my stash apart and dumping half of it on the floor.  When I texted my husband to mutter about the fact that the yarn was not where I thought it was and I had no idea how it ended up where I found it he replied with “I think it’s great that the Tardis yarn when missing!! Now you know how the Daleks feel while they are chasing the damn thing all over the universe!” So I had to chuckle.  And then I stuffed the rest of the yarn back into what ever space it would fit into and I cast on the mammoth 330 stitches for the medium size.

And now we get to the point of this little rant.  T.V and knitting go hand in hand for most of us.  I knit my entire Lady Eleanor stole while watching Fringe.  Stargate Atlantis has witnessed the creation of many Christmas gifts for 2011,(though I have to admit Jason Mamoa is very distracting), and an episode of The Walking Dead produced Maggie’s chew toy.  It’s very rare that I watch a movie or TV in general without knitting.  Hockey is the one exception.  I will hold knitting in my hands and occasionally knit the odd stitch here and there when the play has been stopped or when they are in between periods.  I have no idea how I got through mindless hours of  tv watching before I knit and can’t even image trying to ever do it again.  It’s such precious knitting time. It’s also my answer to people when they say they don’t have time to knit – if you have time to watch tv you have time to knit.  So my question is, what does everyone else knit to? (And, is the original Stargate worth watching?)

Just one final thought from Blink, (btw-will never be able to look at those damn stone angels again without suspicion), “People assume that time is a strict progression of cause to effect, but actually, from a non-linear non-subjective viewpoint, it’s more like a big bowl of wibbly wobbly timey wimey… stuff.”

17 responses to “What the Hell is Tardis Blue Anyway?

  • Renee Anne

    Ah, things that are the color of the Tardis 🙂 I love the Tardis.

    I was the same way about David Tennant. First of all, I loved Christopher Eccelston. It took me a few episodes to even start enjoying David Tennant as the Doctor. Now when I go back and re-watch episodes, I’m picking things up from the first few David Tennant episodes that I hadn’t noticed originally because I was too focused on the fact that David Tennant was most definitely NOT Christopher Eccelston. I had the same problem when Matt Smith first started. Now that I’ve had two seasons of Matt Smith, I’m sold.

    Now, don’t forget to watch all the non-season episodes like Waters of Mars and definitely don’t forget to watch The End of Time (pt. 1 and pt. 2).

  • KT

    I never really watched Dr Who until Matt Smith. He’s lovely! completely bonkers but lovely.

    The new assistant, Amy, is fabulous but my favourite male character ever written is Rory who you will meet too. I won’t spoil it for you but basically, no man on the planet will ever live up to Rory’s standard (sorry Man-shape, but it’s nothing you’ve not heard before…!)

    I’m almost jealous you’re getting to watch them for the first time.

  • Michelle

    I’m convinced I’m the only person I know who is completely unfamiliar with Dr. Who. I don’t even know where one would begin trying to jump in… suggestions?

    • Stacey

      I think season 1 is a great start (I mean the Christopher season) and also make sure you watch all the specials (x-mas, easter, new year, etc.) One hint pay attention to all the details (big and small) they will end up being very important in the finales. I”ve actually watched every episode over 10 times and still make new links. Btw Torchwood (more mature) and The Sara Jane Adventures (kids) are also a great watch (both spin-offs) and also provide some clues. Also watch Doctor Who at the Proms if you love the score. Its really AMAZING!

  • Marie/Underground Crafter

    Thanks for solving the mystery of Blue Tardis (although I had a vague inclination it had something to do with Dr. Who). I agree with you but MC finds it very strange when I say “I’m watching that!” but I’m not facing the tv and I’m crocheting.

  • Triona

    I LOVE original Stargate! It’s my favorite show ever. I finally convinced my husband to watch it from the beginning with me and now it’s one of his favorite shows too.

    But I only watch through the eighth season cause that’s when Richard Dean Anderson leaves (sniff…) and the show’s quality decreases markedly.

  • geeky Heather

    I didn’t “get” Eccelston, so we skipped ahead to David Tennant. That’s MY doctor. Now I also enjoy Eccleston, because I can see the same man in him. I tried very hard not to hate Matt Smith, but it did not take. =( I hear his second season is better.

  • sparklesness

    Tom Baker is my doctor, I love the classic series as much as the new series.

    I remember what I watched when I was making something. So a scarf I made for my mum saw a lot of awesome bands at Belvoir Amphitheatre (Portishead, Gotye, Cold Chisel), and some mitts I made for myself saw a Bones marathon.
    My knitting creations see a lot of QI as well. That’s a perfect show as nearly all the quality is in the dialogue so if you’re concentrating and not looking up, you’re not missing anything.

  • gracey

    I love the original Stargate and am on Team Stargate in Nerd Wars on Ravelry…Season 9 started off shaky, after RDA left, but it definitely picked up…I’m a Daniel Jackson fan, so he was still on…although the relationship between Daniel and Jack is my favorite (in a non-slashy way) I loved Eccleston and it took a few episodes to get used to Tennant..now Tennant is my Doctor, he was so fabulous…I’ve seen the first season (or 2) with Smith…he reminds me of Odo from Star Trek Deep Space Nine and I can’t get over that…but he is totally wacko and that is kinda fun…and yes Amy and Rory are so fantastic…although this is their last season…and River Song…love her…but my favorite companion is Donna..so heartbreaking..I love Doctor/Donna (and someone has yarn named that!)
    I have a couple of Dr. Who themed yarns…but have not gotten a Tardis one yet….and man I could go on and on..so geeky!

  • Kim

    You do know you can ASK that dyer to to dye the yarn for you, right? You have that superpower. 😉

  • Maria Ada

    Sometimes I feel like I’m the only one, but I actually like Matt Smith the best! He’s so interesting looking and I find him hilarious and compelling and attractive in a weird way (I’m also in love with Benedict Cumberbatch from Sherlock). While we’re on the topic of British shows, I love Downtown Abbey and have been knitting up a stom while watching all the reruns getting ready for season 2. Usually though, I just like to watch comedies and/or things I’ve seen a million times before when I knit or crochet: 30 Rock, Arrested Development, Firefly… anything that I can “unwind” to, literally and figuratively.

  • J.T. Colgan

    I absolutely love the fact that knitting got you in to Dr Who and that to you the timey wimey quote is, basically, about knitting. That made me very happy.

  • Amelia Pond

    I think that this is a great article, but I have one thing to say for all people new to Doctor Who: NEVER, and I mean, NEVER write it as Dr. Who. NEVER. It is one of the most disrespectful things that you can do to Doctor Who. Just don’t do it. As for everything else, wonderful. Oh yeah, and leave out the swear. (Hel*) I ❤ DOCTOR WHO!

  • Angie

    The original Stargate is tremendous! WAY better than Atlantis and Universe. I can relate to the Who stuff as my husband loves it and forces me to watch it 🙂

  • walter anthony moore

    i have just turned my spare bedroom door surround into a tardis, it cost me nothinng and my nephews and neices think its cool. tony age 54.

Leave a Reply

