Tale of a Terrified Sweater Knitter: Episode One

After writing my post earlier this week about my dirty little knitting secret, I realized that I am terrified to keep working on my Cardigan.  The fear that I am going to put a bucket load of work into something that I am never going to finish, (or almost as bad,  finish and then hate) is enough to make me ignore the pretty yarn and pretty needles.  I hate that almost more than the thought of making something that I am displeased with.  So I have decided that the best course of action is to make a weekly goal of writing and photographing my progress.  Since I don’t want each week to read, “Roam still lying untouched on the end of the coffee table, or sweater moved from coffee table to end table where it remained unloved and taunted me loudly every time I had to walk past it to leave the room” I figured that I should work on it a little each week and share my ups and downs with the whole thing with the ultimate goal of having something complete at the end of it.

So, this week I have almost finished the two-inch border on the back.  So far it’s not horrid.  I haven’t  burst into tears or forgotten the pattern.  Nothing has spontaneously combusted and my head has yet to explode causing my brain to ooze out of my ears.  ( The absolutely ridiculous thought for me in all of this is that I am willing to knit myself a Bohus sweater, but the thought of doing this little cardi makes me want to curl up and hide under a rock.)

So with all of you I am going to share this personal sweater phobia and maybe you can join in and knit something that scares you too and by the end of it there will be many pretty things for all of us to share and celebrate.

11 responses to “Tale of a Terrified Sweater Knitter: Episode One

  • Natalie

    I’m glad nothing has exploded so far. I understand that it is actually very rare for knitting to spontaneously explode due to errors 😉

    I was scared of knitting socks, then I tried it and now I’m addicted to knitting socks. I was scared of colourwork, now I’m making a fair isle hat (which I think is going to turn out to be miles too small, but hey, I’m making it anyway!)

  • Suzy

    I understand. I am still not on speaking terms with my first attempt at a sweater so undertaking my current cardigan project is more than a little nerve wracking! But if I can do it with virtually NO sweater knitting experience (the first one was an in the round, bottom up tube. As a sock knitter this was 2nd nature. It’s the fit that was a problem. This one has sleeves. And armhole shaping. And picking up stitches. And seams. ACK) I’m sure with all your experience you can beat this cardigan into submission. And I’m looking forward to the updates each week!

    As for knits that scare me, my next is Clapotis. Not that it seems difficult or intimidating in any way. It’s just a large yarn investment for a scarf and I”m not so much a scarf kind of girl. I think I look like a dork in scarves. But I love this one and I shall knit it. And hope I don’t hate it.

  • Ruth

    Hi Keri, I wanted to let you know about the dishcloth challenge I’m having on my blog, its just a personal one, my aim is to knit one dishcloth each week of the year, Kim over at page after page is knitting one every two weeks as her schedule is very hectic, as you can see there are no strict rules and you are most welcome to join in. I’m using patterns from ravelry, mainly free ones and anywhere else they crop up that I fancy them, I’m putting a link for them when I blog about them so people can head back and find them. Let me know if you want to join in and when I’m blogging I’ll link back to your blog and maybe say which one your working on, it will make the whole thing more interesting and we can all encourage each other and find interesting patterns I’m sure between us .

  • Marie/Underground Crafter

    I’m so glad nothing has spontaneously combusted!

  • Paula Morales

    I attempted to knit a cardigan and was actually finished with all the knitting. Then came the sewing. The sides were easy. Setting in the sleeves was hell. I got so frustrated that I ripped the whole thing out. I now know that I must knit in the round and preferably top down. I will attempt it again. Good luck. You can get through it!

  • cleancup

    It seems like you’re off to a great start! I waffle between wanting to challenge myself with knitting and wanting my knitting to be mindless. Right now I’m working on a sweater and trying to figure out why I’m able to manipulate numbers enough to teach high school math, but I still can’t get sizing and fit to come out right in knitting. It’s scary, but I think it’s a good, growing kind of scary… Good luck 🙂

  • Beth

    You’ll make it and wear it proudly. And, if you have to take out a few row, or stitches, it’s not the end! I’ve done both top down and knit in sections and I’m not sure I can say I prefer one over the other. Have you ever done any sewing? And look at Vogue Knitting for help for the mattress stitch, I think it’s one of the better examples for instructions

    Good luck!

  • carriecreatesblog

    You can conquer your sweater fear! The color of the cardigan looks lovely. My sweater phobia is really specific-I bought yarn online, and the shade of brown it actually is looks almost…skin-colored and now I’m terrified if I knit the sweater, I’ll never wear it.
    Maybe I should just stash the yarn…and try with another color

  • Denise

    You deserve to win dear the color of the cardigan is beautiful.

  • jamlrise

    You are a better person than me. I too have the fear of the sweater, and I still won’t attempt one. I say just keep going. You can do it.
    I am practicing my skills on the little things first and working my way up to a sweater. Right now my goal is to get good at lace knitting. I just love the look. I have my first shawl on the needles but I need to frog and start again so I put it in time out for a bit.

  • pdxknitterati

    I think that’s why I love knitting accessories so much. Fear of commitment! My sweaters have turned out fine, mostly, but I did reknit an entire sweater for DH once. Ouch!

Leave a Reply

