Dishcloth Challenge; 2 down, 22 to Go

My second dishcloth for the month is finished.  That means that I am on track, at least for now.  In fact, I have to admit what I am finding most difficult is not finding the time to make the cloths.  It’s resisting casting on a new cloth every time I finish the one that I am working on.  They are such instant gratification knitting and very satisfying, and that really appeals to my impatient nature.  I have to keep reminding myself that I do not need to knit all 24 cloths in the next three weeks.  I have a whole year to do that and I will still be successful at this challenge.  In fact, I have come to realize that the real success will be in only knitting two cloths a month and not allowing them to take over my entire knitting life! (I don’t have enough cotton for that and the whole point is to rid myself of the cotton I do have! I also think that if I start covering the walls of my apartment with brightly coloured knitted dishcloths my husband my not find it overly amusing and may attempt to have me committed for my own good).

Allowing for the anticipation of the next cloth is good.  It’s building character and keeping me interested.  But without further adieu here is my second cloth for the month.

IMG_1246

The pattern is the waving frog knitted dishcloth and the yarn is Florafil Super Soft Cotton Yarn.  I love my jaunty little frog and I love my husband even more for being able to correctly identify said pattern as a frog.  (He did chuckle and say that he did have a brief moment of terror like when a three-year old brings you their art work with great pride and then asks you if you can tell what it is.)  But, it is clearly a frog and that pleases me.

The yarn is from my stash and again is a ball that I had no real use for.  I received it for free one night after a knitting event.  It was left all alone unclaimed and unwanted by any other the other knitters there.  (Its much prettier coloured mates all got scooped up very quickly.)  So I brought it home and tossed it in with the rest of my cotton stash.  I really enjoyed knitting with this yarn and that’s not something I often say about cotton.  I still have about half the ball left and will definitely use it for all or part of another cloth.

A quick note about the pattern, the math is all correct and it you follow the pattern you will end up with a jaunty little waving frog of your very own.  However, the original pattern has a lot of visual clutter in it that I found exceedingly annoying.  I opted to cut and paste the pattern into a word document and then spent about ten minutes removing the excess “noise”.  Once that was finished the whole thing was smooth sailing and knit up in next to no time.  It really is a fun little pattern.

Only 22 more to go!

IMG_1245

For more dishcloth mania check out

Ruth  the women responsible for this fibre filled maddness and Kim who is has also joined in the fun.

Join our Ravelry Group! 

4 responses to “Dishcloth Challenge; 2 down, 22 to Go

  • Ruth

    I just love this jaunty little frog, how cool. This could go down well with some of my little boys so I’m going to add it to my fav’s. I love the green you chose to work in and its always nice to find a nice cotton, I have some brands I prefer over others I’m finding and some go further than others. Again the instant gratification you get with the cloths is the main reason to go with them in between larger projects.

  • Sarah

    Cute dishcloth! I admire you willpower not to cast the next one on quite yet. I’m not sure I’d be able to wait!

  • A Morning Grouch

    cute! and bravo to the hubby for seeing the frog.

  • Kim

    Adorable! I love working with cotton on my little dishcloths. Since I am aiming for just 1 every two weeks, this was my off week and I look forward to sharing one next Thursday~ I am in love with cheerful colored cotton yarn!
    *smiles*

Leave a Reply

