How Many Scarves Does One Person Need?

The other day I dropped into one of my Local Yarn Stores for a visit, and I was treated to being able to watch one of the gentlemen that is very active in the knitting community warping his new loom.  The loom is 12 inches wide and he had to use a good chunk of space in the store to warp it.  It’s also fully portable and folds down into something smaller than a lot of knitting bags that I have seen.  (I should have taken photos, but I was sort of mesmerized by the whole thing and it didn’t occur to me until after.)  It was fascinating and I asked a million questions and got a million answers.  I was told that a scarf made of lace weight would take about eight hours.  We can all agree that’s amazing.  I was invited to riffle through his bag to see his other scarf.  And it was beautiful and impressive and I loved it.  There was a quality about the whole exercise that reminded me of the meditative qualities of spinning and I realized very quickly that once the process of warping the loom was finished that it would be very peaceful and enjoyable to use and create with.

But here’s the one question I didn’t ask (although the woman who had been sitting beside me the whole time did lean over and very quietly ask me the question that I had been thinking of), which is how many scarves, table runners, and placemats does one person actually need?  I’m not trying to be sarcastic, I really don’t get it.

Knitting and crochet are very versatile.  Spinning creates something that you can knit, crochet, or even weave with.  But what does weaving create other than squares and rectangles of varying size?  And why would you buy a loom if that is all you can do with it?  I would love to rent a loom and try it out for a while because at some point I would get bored and the loom could be returned.  My hubby says I don’t understand because I don’t sew and that weaving creates fabric that can then be used for other things.  Is that what’s it’s for?  Do you then cut up your place-mats and table runners and use that fabric for other things?

I’m hoping that someone who reads this does in fact weave.  I am intrigued by the art form, but I just need a little more explanation please.

4 responses to “How Many Scarves Does One Person Need?

  • myknittingcircle

    I imagine a loom would be useful making placements, runners, etc, if you sold them in Etsy, local shop, etc.

  • Suzy

    While I think I completely agree with you on the weaving thing, I will say, at the rate my husband can filth-up a placemat, I could actually go through quite a few of them. You can’t wash a placemat. It becomes a disaster. SO I buy ’em cheap & toss ’em when the ick factor is too high. So I could see myself weaving a lot of place mats. However, I don’t really think I WANT to weave a lot of place. I think I’ll just stay fixated on sticks & string for now!

  • Marie/Underground Crafter

    Yep, you can turn it into fabric. At one craft fair, I was next to a woman who wove fabric and then made a bunch of cool stuff out of it. I bought a pair of woven ear muff cozies from her :).

  • AndiSocial

    I don’t weave, but I would imagine if the loom was big enough, some pretty cool fabric could be made, at which point I would proceed to cut it up and sew with it. However, my friends who weave b*tch a lot about the whole warping process, and as a result weaving doesn’t appeal to me personally.

Leave a Reply

