Questioning my Knitting Sanity Part two

It was just over a week ago when I mentioned I had done two things that were making me question my knitting sanity.  The first was the sock yarn blanket being cast on.  (Technically that was the second thing.  I did this other thing first)  But that’s just a lot of work and it’s going to take a long, long time.

IMG_1307

This other thing is going to take a long time too, but like the blanket there is again no time limit so I can at least breathe a little sigh of relief there.  I am also really, really overwhelmed by this first thing.  So much so that it’s taken me this long to post about it, not out of lack of time or laziness, but because I wasn’t ready to put it out there in the world just yet.  So, what I did (give me a second, I need to find a paper bag and stop hyperventilating before I pass out on the key board) was sign up for the Masters Knitting Program at The Knitting Guild association, level one hand-knitting.  Even now, I’m not certain what it is that I have actually done.  (Other than sort of losing my mind).

Currently, I’m still overwhelmed by the whole idea.  There are swatches to knit, labels to make, papers to write (okay only one paper and I’m not really that concerned about that) and a binder that meets the right requirements to track down.  There are things I have to research to make sure I am doing techniques correctly and I am finally going to have to learn to measure gauge properly.  That last one does concern me a fair bit.  And then I have to package the whole thing up and send it off to have people who I don’t know be very critical about my knitting because that’s their job and I get to sit here and find ways to occupy my very impatient personality while I wait to see what they say.

I’m hoping to be a better knitter when it’s all said and done.  I am hoping to have a better understanding of things than I have now.  I’m hoping to have the little pin that says I passed.  I’m hoping at some point it all stops sounds so incredibly impossible and ridiculous and that I can talk about it with panicking.  I have my doubts.  But I’ll let you know how it goes.

In the mean time, if you want to check out more the Ravelry Group is here or the web page is linked above.  For me, I’m working up the nerve to print the directions out.  I’ll worry about “starting” after I do that.

15 responses to “Questioning my Knitting Sanity Part two

  • Lisa Urban

    You know, it may sound hard now, but I bet once you start you’ll do fine. You’re a great knitter and this is just going to make you much better! I wish you luck 🙂

  • Natalie

    Good luck with it 🙂 I think it’s awesome that you’ve signed up and I know you’ll do great 🙂

  • Sarah

    I love your first few squares. Those little things get addicting so be careful!

    Good luck on working through to become a Master Knitter! It sounds like a lot of work, but a lot of good lessons too.

  • Suzy

    May I take a moment to bow to your awesomeness for even ATTEMPTING this? I am looking forward to reading about your progress!

    In the mean time. Wanna swap some sock yarn bits? I knit up a bunch of little mitered squares over the weekend for my own forray into insanity (thanks for that, by the way) so I know I have a bunch to share…

  • Tonya

    Oh wow! How inspiring! Maybe when I finish this electrical engineering course I am doing, I will check it out. I’m so impressed.

  • Marie/Underground Crafter

    Awesome! I have been thinking of signing up for the crochet one for a while now. I’m looking forward to seeing what you get done with yours!

  • Contessa

    I bet you’ll do JUST fine. 🙂 I reviewed the requirements, and if I can do most of them, you should have no problems whatsoever (since I know you’re a far more advanced knitter than I am!!!!).

    I hope you’ll post more about this. I’d love to follow your progress, and I’m genuinely considering doing this, myself (now THAT is crazy)! It’s that designing a pattern thing that’s going to be MY problem (though I’ve wanted to do that for a while now). . .

    Good luck, and if you ever need a cheerleader, you know where to find me!

  • Leslie

    Congratulations! What a commitment and the scary part of being judged. I’ve finally reached the point when IF asked ‘do you knit? / are you a knitter?’ I can say, yes, with out qualifications or disclosures about what I’m not so good at yet. I’m rooting for you and eager to follow your journey to mastery.

  • metermaid50

    I’ve thought about doing the masters program (probably as one of my many retirement projects). I’ve very interested to read about your progress. Good luck!

  • Michelle

    WHOA! The master knitter program looks AWESOME! I hope you’ll share your experiences with us. I’d love to learn more about the process of completing it!

  • Renee Anne

    I’ve pondered the Masters’ coursework……and I might do it someday. Or not.

  • evelyn

    I completely understand why you’re feeling overwhelmed but I also completely understand why you signed up. I think this experience is going to change how you knit (for the better) and you will be so proud in the end. And don’t forget to have fun!!

  • Lauren

    Good luck! That looks like a wonderful way to hone your craft (uh, pun intended).

  • Kim

    First: Ummm..excuse me. (hyperventilating here for you!)
    Second: My hearty congrats on taking this huge step, as I already consider you a master knitter and know you will do well!
    Please keep us posted throughout the process–it sounds fascinating!
    *smiles*

  • MyKnittingCircle

    You go, girl!! I’m proud of you! You’ll do great.

Leave a Reply

