A Dishcloth Update, or: I am in Tawashi Bliss

A few weeks ago …….. sent me a link to the two toned tawashi. (Thank you so much for that)!  So when the second round of Nerd Wars started and one of the challenges was to create something out of scraps I printed off the pattern and began.  Initially, I had only planned to make one, but somehow I blinked and had three.  I love the tawashi.

IMG_1342

First, I have to be honest and admit that I love these partly just because I love the word.  It’s fun to say.  Change the inflection a little bit as your repeat it and it’s even more fun.  I may even have sent a text message to my husband that had the word Tawashi in it and nothing else.  (I am not willing to confirm or deny that last statement.  I’m just saying it might have happened.  Four times.  In one message.  Hypothetically.)  Second, these are incredibly fast to knit.  They are so fast that they make other fast projects feel very slow.  Sit down with your yarn and a cup of tea and by the time you need to pour your next cup, your Tawashi will be finished.  (Unless you are like my co-worker, who will  make a cup of tea and swig it so fast that her mouth gently steams while she is gulping it down.  If you too are one of those people, you’re on your own.  No one could knit that fast.)  They also use very little yarn so they are perfect for scrap ends.

Each one uses almost nothing!

I was a little confused when it came to the sewing up.  It took both myself and my husband to work it out and there may have been a little frustration on both our parts.  But in the end it all worked out.  I cheated a little and instead of sewing the top and the bottom of the tube shut, I simply threaded the yarn through it and pulled it tight.  It’s worked like a charm and means that the finishing steps take under five minutes to complete.

I am super pleased with the progress that I am making in the dishcloth challenge and am further along than I thought I would be, well past the halfway mark.  And I have reached one small milestone – all my cotton now fits in one container! I am very pleased with this development.  Now, I just need the container to be a little less bulgy, but one thing at a time!

The original idea for this challenge came from  Ruth.  Head on over to her blog to read all about it.

5 responses to “A Dishcloth Update, or: I am in Tawashi Bliss

  • Lisa Urban

    I love making Tawashis too, they are so fast and so cute. I will agree that the sewing up got confusing at first, but it worked out. I am glad you are enjoying making these!

  • Kim

    Harumph…I am now behind in my dishcloth challenge and thanks for reminding me! 😉
    Seriously though, I love your Tawashi (typing the word is fun too!) especially your color choices. I did go over and mark the pattern as a favorite on Rav, but am a little freaked out by the sewing up directions–I am afraid I will get it all knit up and then not know what to do with it in the end….I am a worrier like that!
    *Happy Saturday and smiles to you*

  • Erin

    I love those little things! I’ve seen them around and have wanted to try them, but I have so many other projects on the needles right now! Too many in fact! Yours are great, especially the colors!

  • A Morning Grouch

    Ooooh I love those!! Super cute. And lovely name.

  • Shannon

    Oooh, I’b been thinking about making tawashis, too! Did you use cotton or acrylic?

Leave a Reply

