YOP Update March 25

 I’m back after missing a week due to being away and by the beach and while I will always take knitting with me on a plane (assuming that my needles aren’t taken away by airport security), when I’m on a beach chair I read.  I’ve slowly gotten back into the swing of things  and progress is starting up again.  I am hoping that by the end of the week I will have two more fairly major projects finished.  Even if I don’t have the sewing up for the second one complete, the knitting itself should be done.  Both are well past the half way mark so I am hoping that it is doable.
With only three months left in the first YOP, I am starting to see what’s will likely be finished, will be a carryover WIP, and what will most likely not even be touched.  I would like to take a bigger chunk out of my sock list and make some serious progress on Roam (maybe I should start working on it more often).  But, I am happy with how much of this list I have tackled and I will confess that I am already thinking about the next one.
I still (magically) seem to be getting more balls out of my stash then I am bringing in.  I see this as a very promising and that there may be hope for a smaller, more organized and more efficient (meaning mostly yarn that I want to knit with) stash sometime soon(ish).
Hope everyone had a great week.  Looking forward to catching up.  Happy knitting
 
WIPS:
  • Clockwork (cast on June  &  part of the Knit-a-long of Doom) (Finished July 2011)
  • Wallis Cardi (cast on August of last year)
  • Rattlesnake Creek socks (cast on about 1 1/2 years ago)
  • Noro Log Cabin Blanket (cast on in June & it’s Christmas Knitting)
  • Toe Up Socks
Christmas:
  • Super secret BFF gift (I know you read this.  No peeking, but you’ll like it.) (Finished Sept  2011)
  • Super Secret Husband gift (He reads it too.) (Finished Dec 2011)
  • Urbana  (Finished July 2011) (Dad)
  • Podsters
  • Saturday morning slippers x2 (FIL, mom)
  • Minion (Teiff) (Finished October 2011)
  • Gargoyle (Sean) (Finished October 2011))
  • Strangling Vines scarf (Christine) (Finished Dec 2011)
  • Windcheif hat (dad) (Finished November 2011)
  • Cherie socks  (mom)(In Progress)
  • AStericks (MIL) (Finished November 2011)
  • Dog Chewie (Maggie) (Finished October 2011)
  • Super Secret Little J gift (See first super secret gift.  That’s her mum.) (Finished Oct 2011)
  • Kleenex covers x6 (Finished October)
  • Algonquin (In Progress)
  • Washcloth x2 ( I really thought I was finished with those!)  (Finished Sept 2011)
 
Shawls
  • Flamboyan (Finished Jan 2012)
  • Reunion Cow(Finished Jan 2012)
Cardis
  • Roam (In Progress)
Socks
  • Lenore (The third) (Finished Dec 2011)
  • Flaming Desire 
  • Staked  
  • Fishbone Gansey  (Part of the Knit-a-long of Doom) (Finished October 2011)
  • Cut & Paste
  • My Vampire Boyfriend (Part of Nerd Wars) (In Progress)
  • Cauchy (In Progress)
  • Masonic Lodge
  • Flutter-by (Finished February 2012)
  • Aragorn
  • Duckies  (Finished Aug 2011)
12 Shawls in 2012 (first 6)
  • Different Lines (In Progress)
  • Sharktooth (In Progress)
  • Flavia (Finished Jan 2012)
  • Stephen West Club shawl (February 2012)
  • Stephen West Club shawl (Feb) (In Progress)
  • Walnut Grove
 Dishcloth Challenge (first 12)
  • 8/12 complete
 
Newly added
  • West Knits Mystery KAL (Finished Sept 2011)
  • Julia
  • Minion Army (Finished October 2011)
  • Blue Whale shawl – replacement MIL Gift (Finished Dec 2011)
 
The running totals so far are:

24/46 complete

13/22  in progress

To try to have a better idea of what happens in my stash

Balls in/Balls out

0/11  (January)

8/5 (February)

0/1.5 (March)

10 responses to “YOP Update March 25

  • sandy

    Like you I read vs knit/crochet while on the beach. Don’t want the sand in whatever I’m making for one. And when it’s hot I find you really can’t knit or crochet, as the yarn sticks to your hands and doesn’t slid off the needles well. Plus, who wants sunscreen on their projects.

    I’ve never had trouble with needles on the plane, even on non domestic flights.

  • Ruth

    Glad to hear you had a nice relaxing enjoyable time at the beach and its lovely to just kick back and relax and read. Your making great progress on your list and I’d say the remaining projects stand an excellent chance of being finished.

  • Faith

    I’ve said it before but th though of yarn and sand makes me squirm, a bit like someone scratching their fingers down a blackboard!

    Your holiday pics look lovely, the drinks sound a little dubious though, can’t figure what clamato is…I will google it, is it citrus, like a clementine?

    What do you do with yarn that doesn’t lend itself to anything you want to knit….I seem to have acquired quit a lot, you know scarf fancy stuff, I wish I could come up with somethn I would actually like to do, other than give it to someone else who likes those scarves.

    • Keri

      First. Clamato is what some would say is an unholy union of tomato and clam juice. I love it. My hubby hates it. Depends on what you like.
      As for the yarn situation once I know it will never ever be used I try to find a way to donate it. Once a year our local textile museum has a “more than a yard” sale. It’s a great way to rid yourself of odds and ends and yarn you just don’t want.

  • supertinks

    I’m already looking forward to next year as well, and have half my list almost written!

  • Minding My Own Stitches

    I can’t even imagine knitting at a beach; I often find the glare too much even for reading! Besides the knitting doesn’t slide nicely on the needles if my fingers are sweating. Like you, I’m thinking about my next list and trying to decide what, if anything to carry over. Happy knitting!

  • Underground Crafter

    Wow, you are doing great! I’m so awed by your progress :).

  • kimmery4

    You can sure be proud of all you have accomplished on that list! I keep thinking I have not done much, but then when I look at it more closely I am usually surprised. I need to do a close-up check in soon and figure out what is going to happen, not going to happen, and might make it to next year’s list–such fun to look forward to a fresh new start again, now that I know what is a realistic amount for me to complete.
    *smiles and happy thoughts as you settle back in to home*

  • AndiSocial

    I agree with you about reading vs. knitting on the beach. I’m glad to see I’m not the only one who is making my list for the next YOP 🙂

  • babygreens

    Another one who reads on the beach, although it has been a long time since I had the chance! I hope you had a lovely break.

    I’m in denial about YOP finishing :LALALALA: Behind? Moi? Never.

Leave a Reply

