Is There a Worse Group of Instigators in the World than Other Knitters?

I really need to ask:  What makes it so easy for knitters to be instigators for other knitters?  Is it that we are so easy and predictable to buy gifts for?  Is it because we as knitters are slightly weak-willed when it comes to pretty things, and that it doesn’t take much to lead us off the path and cause us to dive head first into soft wooly temptation?  I always joke and say that I would have a lot more money in my saving accounts if I hadn’t started knitting.  But the flip side is I would be a far less creative person, and probably would have committed some sort of crime resulting from having to wait too long in line at the Doctor’s office or having to sit through one too many really dumb movies without the calming effect of having yarn and two pointy sticks in my hand.  Maybe it’s just that we are all happy and knitting and want all of our happy knitting friends to be happy too?  (And, yes we probably all hope that our non-knitting friends are also happy.  Even if we do find ourselves questioning how anyone can truly be happy if they don’t have some sort of fibre addiction.)   But my God, we do incite furthering of the habit in each other all of the time!

This past weekend for example, I was sitting around a table at one of our favourite pubs with four other knitters and we were having pints and knitting (two sweaters, one sock, one shawl, and one toddler dress), and all of us found way to justify and encourage more knitting, more yarn purchaing, and more trips to Rhinebeck.  At no point did any of us pipe up about anything fibre related and say, “No you really shouldn’t do that.  It’s a bad idea!”  What we said was “no not doing that is a bad idea, here’s how you can make it a good idea”! I received a belated Christmas gift of West Knits book two and three and already have things in mind that need to be added to the Year Two Year of Projects list.  By the end of the afternoon, I think we all had more knitting done then when we started.  (Did you get the sock fixed yet Ms. T?)  And we had all managed to gently encourage someone else in around the table to do “more.”

I would like to think that I (or any of the other women that were at the table) would step up and stop a truly horrid idea from happening.  If one of the the other women at the table announced that they were making a full length purple and lime green mohair knitted coat for example, I would like to think that maybe, just maybe, we may point out why this is a bad idea and then encourage the knitter to find other things to do with the mohair and the full length coat.   It makes me happy and gives me peace of mind to think that as knitters we do not instigate bad choices.  I like to think of fibre people as bringers of joy and happiness and slightly depleted bank accounts.

9 responses to “Is There a Worse Group of Instigators in the World than Other Knitters?

  • nonlinearsolutions

    No. The sock is not finished but I am almost ready to start the toe decreases. Those socks are knit so tight they are bulletproof.

  • Natalie

    I need real life knitting friends! Not that I need any help justifying more knitting, more projects, more purchasing, more yarn, etc, but it would be nice to have the back-up!

  • Shannon

    I just realized that I have a real life knitting friend and I forsee MUCH instigating in the future! 😀

  • AndiSocial

    “If one of the the other women at the table announced that they were making a full length purple and lime green mohair knitted coat for example, I would like to think that maybe, just maybe, we may point out why this is a bad idea and then encourage the knitter to find other things to do with the mohair and the full length coat.”

    Either that, or the knitter with the idea for the crazy coat would convince the others as to why it’s the most excellent idea EVAR and end up with loads of encouragement to knit said coat

  • Vanessa

    When I lived near my knitting friends, it was a little difficult to not listen to them when they said, “You should totally buy that.” But it is great to hear someone else say, “That’s not too hard for you to try. Just do it!”

  • Michelle

    We are definitely an encouragable group. 😀 I think we all understand the importance our vice plays in our own life, and therefore, want to make sure our friends’ needs are met…or we understand the dangers to ensue if said friends do not have enough fiber. 😉

  • Leslie

    Our knitting friends are following the ‘golden rule.’ Do we want to be encouraged, yes. Do we want to be told our knitting is wonderful, yes.
    Do we want to be told ” no.more.yarn” NO. Just treating others as we want to be treated.

  • kimmery4

    Well–I think the instigator of the purple and lime green full length coat would find a way to make this into a knit along and sweep her knitting friends along for the ride!
    Very cute…
    *smiles*

Leave a Reply

