Maybe Crazy has Become the New Normal

So I have found myself asking a question this week: am I just settling into my crazy plans and this is why they no longer seem so outrageous?  Just over a year ago when I started thinking about making my own sock yarn blanket I thought the idea was a little insane.  When I mentioned it to my BFF, she was very supportive, but I could tell she thought I had lost my marbles too.  But, not being one to back down from a challenge, I started stashing sock yarn ends and finally about two months ago, I decided that I had enough to start working on the blanket.

At that point I still thought I was  a little crazy, but I went to the dollar store and found a cute little bucket to hold my ends in and I cast on my first square.  For the record, I could hear the tune from Crazy Train wafting around in the back of my head.  But I kept knitting and knitting and knitting.  And now I have a few more squares finished and I no longer think I’m crazy.  I think I am dedicated.

IMG_1306

I am dedicated to making something that is going to be really pretty.  I am dedicated to making something fully out of scraps or odd gifted balls and that I refuse to buy any new yarn for.  I am dedicated to something that is a huge undertaking, but completely doable.

I’ve decided that I will make the first row 20 squares in width, or maybe slightly bigger if I think it’s necessary.  I want to make it big and cuddly and full of colour.  I want to smile when I see it and I want it to cheer me up on deary winter days. Today, I think it will do those things.  I am sure there will be days when I curse its very existence.
IMG_1375
But for today I will enjoy the sock yarn blanket bliss and run with it.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have another square to knit.  They’re tiny.  No time at all.  Maybe I’ll do two.

9 responses to “Maybe Crazy has Become the New Normal

  • Suzy

    I see nothing insane about it. Mr. Me and your BFF may, perhaps, be in the same camp on their thoughts on the project, but me… I like it!

    For the record, blankie squares make exceptional drunk knitting, too. Not enough time or yarn committment for me to care if I screw one up, I can rip it out and reknit it in no time flat!

    I think I’m up to 22 squares knit…

  • Vanessa

    I really should set myself a quota of 1 hexipuff a day. The sooner I do that, the sooner it’ll be finished!

  • AndiSocial

    I don’t think you’re insane at all. Midn you, I may or may not want to knit one of these myself….Maybe we’re both insane?

  • trulymyrtle

    Definitely dedicated. Just tick along as you are. Nothing strange about it at all. One day you’ll have a very beautiful blanket 🙂

  • Underground Crafter

    You’re not crazy. I know that because you are already aware that there will be days when you will curse the blanket’s existence :).

  • Lisa

    I really enjoyed reading this post, I love the blanket you are making and the perseverance you have in doing so.

  • Alittlebitsheepish

    Lovely colours. You are not crazy, I know this as someone else with a sock yarn blanket on the go, we can’t both be crazy 😀

  • randipants

    It’s a perfectly sensible project to undertake. Top 2 reasons it’s a good idea: 1. No waste – even when I don’t have enough yarn left for a full square, I knit right until I run out, then add in a new color. With the overall color scheme of the blanket (that is, no color scheme at all), you don’t even notice. 2. Committing to making something very large only out of leftovers means you won’t be able to say, “But I have nothing to knit!” for a very long time.

    Wait. I forgot 3. Every skein of sock yarn you buy now supplies 2 projects, so it’s like you’re spending half as much. Seriously. Check my math. I’m not wrong.

  • The ends | Underground Crafter

    […] also been thinking a lot about this post from When Did I Become a Knitter.  For the life of me, I cannot understand why all I can think […]

Leave a Reply

