3KCBWDAY6 – Improving Your Skill Set

I hate being bored.  There really is nothing that will make me more frustrated with a day than being bored.  Fortunately, it doesn’t happen often because I love to learn.  It doesn’t matter if it’s a new knitting skill or a recipe or a whole new skill altogether.  I love the challenge of tackling something new.  And while I do like having a routine (I like learning, not chaos)  pushing myself to become better, or faster, or more efficient is something I welcome in my life.

Take, for example, the fact that I am currently undertaking two post-graduate programs of study – so to speak.  The first is an official post-graduate line of study at an actual College and will allow me to be a Behavioural Therapist at the end of it.  (Until then I will have no life, but that’s a whole other issue.)  The second “graduate program” is the Hand Knit Masters Class through the Knitting Guild Of America.  Clearly, it is not an actual graduate program, in the sense that I did not have to attend a University first to take this program.  I just had to be ready to challenge myself and my knitting skills and be willing to take them to the next level.  But, I can assure you that the amount of work that I have to put in to complete the first year does rival the amount of work that I had to do in some of the actual classes I had to take in order to obtain both my Diploma, and then my Bachelor’s Degree.  It is close to staggering.  And it will be worth every last second because I will learn so much about my knitting style and how to make it better and more efficient (and maybe even faster!).

With knitting and fibre, just like in life, there is always more to learn, and when I am finished the first year of the Master Class, I’ll do the second.  One day I’ll learn brioche stitch and I still have my Bohus sweater in the closet waiting for my love.  I expect the learning curve on the last one to be pretty darn high.  And when all that’s finished, I’ll find something else to learn, ’cause there will be something.  I will find it or it will find me.  But it will be there.

Why would you want to know everything that there is to know about anything? Life would be way too boring and like I said, I hate to be bored.

For more Day Six Entries, Google:  3KCBWDAY6

11 responses to “3KCBWDAY6 – Improving Your Skill Set

Leave a Reply

