Finally A YOP Update June 10, 2012

Wow.  I feel like it’s been months since I was last here.  The last month feels like a whole life time and stress was coming in from every possible direction.  There were days when I really missed writing here and days when I couldn’t even think about.  There was even a solid two weeks where I had no interest in knitting or wool or fibre and would occasionally pick something up and spend and hour knitting 50 stitches.  The knitting mojo left the building to the point where even my husband commented on it.

In the last 6 weeks my husband and I both decided to go back to school, there have been two deaths, we received some devastating news about my Mum’s health and she is going through multiple doctors appointments trying to pin point exactly where the problem is stemming from.  Cancer is suspected but we don’t know where it is yet.  But, a least one of the things interfering with my fibre life came to an end this week (work stuff)  and suddenly I want to knit and blog again which does have its drawbacks as I really resented to the two hours I spent studying today when what I wanted to be doing was knitting.  It’s all about striking a balance.

I’m going to be honest and say the list has pretty much gone out the window.  At this point my plan is to fold the current WIPS into my list for July 1st and do my best to pick the pieces and start sorting out things again.  Roam has stalled at a back and 1 1/2 front pieces, but it will still be finished by the autumn.  Socks still need mates, the blanket has fallen to the wayside, and the lace scarf (oddly) is the one project that did get a little closer to being finished.  This is the first time since I started knitting that I’ve a prolonged knitting drought and I am now having to fight the urge to try to knit everything!!!!

Anyway, not posting the list this week.  But I will next week.  Thanks for being supportive through the writing and knitting drought.  We should be resuming our regularly scheduled programing any time now.

Hope everyone had a great fibre week.

 

6 responses to “Finally A YOP Update June 10, 2012

  • Kim

    Oh dear, it is good to see you back– and I am so sorry for all your difficulty of late. Sometimes it truly seems to just rain down on us. I think I had two lengthy blog droughts this year so totally know exactly what you were writing about here–sometimes life just happens, but it seems that yarn has a way of drawing us back. 😉 I am sending you well wishes for a calmer week, and one that holds answers for your mama.
    *smiles*

  • sparklesness

    Best wishes that things settle down soon

    Hugs

  • Sandi

    Very best wishes for your Mum’s health, your study, and of course your projects!

  • Underground Crafter

    I remember those days (of school, work, and family stuff all at once). I’m sending my good thoughts for your mom and her health, as well as my condolences for the two deaths. It is nice to hear from you and I hope your next weeks are calmer.

  • Minding My Own Stitches

    Sounds like some very challenging weeks. I sure hope things get better with your Mum! The knitting can wait until you’re up for it. When my mom was ill I knit alot – I found it to be a good stress reliever, it made me feel like I was in control of something. You’ll just have to take it easy on yourself until things start to settle down.

  • Liz

    I’m sorry you’ve had such a tough time recently! I hope everything gets better really soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

