YOP Year Two – July 8th

Technically the first official update doesn’t have to happen until next week.  So if you’re reading this, and you’re new to YOP and you don’t have a post ready, don’t worry.  Sit  back, relax, read some blogs, fondle some fibre …… it’s all good.

As for my list, I realized that there was one WIP that I had missed adding to my original list, so it’s there now, and I have my first finish. Wingspan is off the needles!!!!!

Clearly I need to weave in the ends and block it.
I’m hoping to have better pictures this week for Finished Object Friday

Now before you start thinking that I am some sort of knitting genius or speed guru let me assure that I am not.  This was started in June as part of Nerd Wars and not finished before the start of the second Year of Projects began.  It made it onto my list for a few reasons.  First, it is a WIP and I really am committed to finishing my WIPS and getting out of control project polygamy into something resembling “reasonable”.  Two, it’s a Christmas gift for my Mother in Law.  Three comes from a lesson that I learned with the first Year of Projects.  If it’s on the list I am far more likely to knit it than if it is not.  I like seeing things get crossed off the list.   I also don’t change my list too much throughout the year (last year I removed two items only – one because I realized that the sock pattern was toe up and I hate toe up socks with a passion and the other because I realized a truly had no interest in making the item at all).

All that aside, I have one project off my list and have started the “balls out” of stash count in the right direction.

And…… here’s the list

A Year of Projects the Sequel 

WIPS

  • Stained glass mittens
  • Fiddle Heads
  • Cherie
  • Slippers – mom
  • Rattlesnake creek
  • Roam
  • Oliver’s Blanket
  • Noro Log Cabin
  • Algonquin
  • Walnut Grove
  • Masonic Lodge Socks

Cardigans

  • Stage Door
  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Angural Cardi
  • Julia
  • Iced
  • Wallis
  • Bohus

Shawls (12 in 12)

  • #7 Cliff of insanity
  • #8 Earth and Sky
  • #9 Wingspan (Finished July 2012)
  • #10 Colour affection (In Progress)
  • #11
  • #12

Socks

  • Jaywalker (In Progress)
  • Lenore
  • Carousal
  • Fargyles
  • Staked
  • Flutter Bye’s
  • Aargon
  • Nutkin
  • Cubist socks

Other

  • Locksley
  • Stephen West gloves
  • Willow mitts
  • Ellipses
  • Frankenstein (In Progress)
  • Hypernova
  • Anne Hanson fingerless gloves

Totals

1/40 Complete

14/39  In Progress

Dishcloth challenge

0/12

Balls in/out

0/7.5  July

13 responses to “YOP Year Two – July 8th

  • Underground Crafter

    The Wingspan is really cool looking. Congratulations on the finish!

  • Ruth

    I really love the look of your wingspan, well done on the finish.

  • mary

    The wingspan is beautiful, your MIL should love it..I can’t wait to see some of your other finished projects..

  • Shateen

    isn’t there a huge feeling of satisfaction when you get to “strikethrough’ something on your list? Wingspan looks great, can’t wait for the FO pics!

  • Marsha

    The Wingspan turned out really great. I would love to see the colors you have chosen for color affection. I am working on mine right now and am really enjoying the garter ‘soothing’ stitch.

  • Renee Anne

    I do like the colors you chose for Wingspan…..those are my “winter” colors.

    Random thought about the post itself. Where you have the (in progress) after some items, can you change the color to something a titch darker? I can barely see it. Then again, maybe the masses can see it and I’m just having difficulty.

    Like I said, random thought.

    Happy knitting 🙂

  • babygreens

    oh my word that list! I’m really looking forward to watching those projects grow. I was wondering about posting today, but it’s not often that I have a post written at the right time. I love your Wingspan, your projects all somehow look so effortless, like they have just fluttered off your needles. Gorgeous.

  • Minding My Own Stitches

    Gorgeous wingspan – love it in the dramatic neutrals! Hey, is it okay if I still think you’re a knitting genius?

  • kimmery4

    That wingspan seems pretty genius to me! Wow, but that is a striking project and your mom in law is one lucky lady. I think maybe you were the only one from year 1 who hardly changed their list–you are a woman with a clear idea of what you want. I am planning on socks this year but will be toe up–how come you hate that method?
    *smiles and cheery thoughts*

  • Sarah - Crafts from the Cwtch

    Your Wingspan looks lovely – I keep seeing it on different blogs and I am trying to resist as it’s not on my list and I already have enough off-list projects in progress or in planning…. but you’re making it hard!

  • Emma

    Beautiful shawl, and congrats on a finish, it looks so lovely!

  • HillyT

    That’s quite a list! I’ll enjoy watching what you produce. The wingspan is lovely.

Leave a Reply

