YOP Update July 15th, 2012

Week two of this the 2nd YOP year turned out to be a very productive one.  And I am amazed that while I was very, very  tempted to cast on something new, I managed to work only on pre-existing WIPS.  In reality it was torturous really very simple to stick  to that goal.  (I also know of a place where you can get yarn specifically for left-handed knitters.)  But, it does mean that there has been great progress on a bunch of stuff.

First, the Jaywalkers are over the half way mark and the second sock is underway.  After a little fiddling with my Mum’s slippers I figured out how to alter the pattern and I’m almost finished the first one.  Another square has been added to the blanket for Widget.

Seven down. Five to go.
Click for link

But, and this is making me happy, the log cabin blanket is one huge step closer to being finished.  I had tossed it aside for months because I hated the way the finishing was going.  It just wasn’t looking right.   The thought that I was going to have spent so much time and energy knitting something that was going to look rather terrible in the end made me a little nauseous and if I thought about it too much the room would start to spin a little and I’d need a cool cloth and some water and a very comfy place to sit until the horror passed.  So after months of pondering I finally decided to finish the same way I finished my Lizard Ridge blankets and I am crocheting around the edge of each square and sewing that together.  My hubby was awesome and ripped out all the black joins that were in the first row for me while I worked on the other squares.  Well over half the squares have completed edging and there is now a real possibility that I might be finished the blanket in the near future.

The only change to the list is one more pair of socks.  They are simple and basic and will show off some of my more outrageous sock yarn well.

Hope every one else had a wonderful fibre filled week.

 A Year of Projects: The Return! 

WIPS

  • Stained glass mittens
  • Fiddle Heads
  • Cherie
  • Slippers – mom
  • Rattlesnake creek
  • Roam
  • Oliver’s Blanket
  • Noro Log Cabin
  • Algonquin
  • Walnut Grove
  • Masonic Lodge Socks

Cardigans

  • Stage Door
  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Angural Cardi
  • Julia
  • Iced
  • Wallis
  • Bohus

Shawls (12 in 12)

  • #7 Cliff of insanity
  • #8 Earth and Sky
  • #9 Wingspan (Finished July 2012)
  • #10 Colour affection (In Progress)
  • #11
  • #12

Socks

  • Jaywalker (In Progress)
  • Lenore
  • Carousal
  • Fargyles
  • Staked
  • Flutter Bye’s
  • Aargon
  • Nutkin
  • Cubist socks
  • Annapurna

Other

  • Locksley
  • Stephen West gloves
  • Willow mitts
  • Ellipses
  • Frankenstein (In Progress)
  • Hypernova
  • Anne Hanson fingerless gloves

Totals

1/41 Complete

14/40  In Progress

Dishcloth challenge

0/12

Balls in/out

1/7.5  July

17 responses to “YOP Update July 15th, 2012

Leave a Reply

