YOP Update – August 5th, 2012

After a little bit of a hiatus, (the first Sunday we were camping, the second we were in Cuba; neither activity really would have been enhanced by the addition of my laptop) I am back with a YOP update.  And while there is not much to report in the way of changes to the list, there has been great progress made with my ability to actually knit again! I can now knit for ever-increasing lengths of time with my brace off, as long as the item is light (socks are perfect) and I remember not to use my right thumb to “push” anything.  And I have figured out how to knit with the brace on!!!!!

Again items must be light and pattern simple and as you can imagine, progress is slow, but there is progress.  And as one of my knitting cohorts pointed out “slow progress is faster progress than not being able to knit at all.”  She is of course correct and even though my normal knitting pace has been slowed, I am thrilled to be able to knit again at all.

The other things I can do, again slowly and as long as I am very careful with my thumb, is weave in ends and sew.  Which means I am almost finished the Log Cabin Blanket.  It was on track to be complete before we went away, but that wasn’t able to happen due to Great Thumb Injury of 2012.  (I figure it needs a name since that will make it faster to type and it’s been enough of a thorn in my side that it really deserves a name.  I’d actually like to call it something else, and I often have, but they are not very lady like names and I really try hard not to use those words in my blog).

The only other major change is the balls in/out tally.  I may have had a little accident in a yarn shed yesterday.  More about that tomorrow, but believe me when I say no right thinking fibre person can fault me.

Without further rambling, on to my very static list.

One more thing – To answer a Morning Grouch’s question, July 1st was about two months after I first presented the idea to a group of other Ravelry folks.  That gave us enough time to get a group set up and for other people to join in and make lists.  It’s also a long weekend in North America so it seemed to make sense.

A Year of Projects the Sequel 

WIPS

  • Stained glass mittens
  • Fiddle Heads
  • Cherie
  • Slippers – mom
  • Rattlesnake creek
  • Roam
  • Oliver’s Blanket
  • Noro Log Cabin
  • Algonquin
  • Walnut Grove
  • Masonic Lodge Socks

Cardigans

  • Stage Door
  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Angural Cardi
  • Julia
  • Iced
  • Wallis
  • Bohus

Shawls (12 in 12)

  • #7 Cliff of insanity
  • #8 Earth and Sky
  • #9 Wingspan (Finished July 2012)
  • #10 Colour affection (In Progress)
  • #11
  • #12

Socks

  • Jaywalker (In Progress)
  • Lenore
  • Carousel (In Progress)
  • Fargyles
  • Staked
  • Flutter Bye’s
  • Aargon
  • Nutkin
  • Cubist socks
  • Annapurna

Other

  • Locksley
  • Stephen West gloves
  • Willow mitts
  • Ellipses
  • Frankenstein (In Progress)
  • Hypernova
  • Anne Hanson fingerless gloves

Totals

1/41 Complete

15/40  In Progress

Dishcloth challenge

2/12

Balls in/out

2/12.5  July

18 (!)/0 August

11 responses to “YOP Update – August 5th, 2012

  • cleancup

    The Great Thumb Injury of 2012 makes me cringe viscerally in sympathy; so glad it’s on the mend!

    As for your yarn accident… it happens to the best of us. Press on, and pet your pretties 🙂

  • babygreens

    Your poor thumb! Probably not much consolation, but I expect you’re still faster than me, even in your injured state. I hope you’re mended soon. Look forward to seeing the finished Log Cabin!

  • Ruth

    I’m so glad you can knit some and any knitting is better than none. It certainly does deserve a name and I like to keep my unlady like names to my head where they can be colourful for such things. Looking forward to seeing your Log Cabin.

  • Faith

    Glad you are figuring a way around knitting with your poorly thumb….I didn’t think your alcohol anaesthetic you were using in Cuba was the way forward long term! I guess being able to sew ends is some consolation, although I have to admit it’s a job I hate.

    Have a good week!

  • Minding My Own Stitches

    An accident in the yarn shed, LOL. Reminds me of Cold Comfort Farm …. “something nasty in the woodshed”! Sorry about the thumb; must feel great getting some use back!

    And no, internet service in Cuba tends to be pretty awful. Not much point even trying, I’ve found. Better to relax, snorkle, swim and enjoy!

  • Cris

    Progress is progress, no matter how slow! Glad you are able to knit again 🙂

  • Jen

    Glad you’re able to get some knitting done! Just be sure not to overdo it, don’t want to hurt yourself again.

  • Underground Crafter

    Yay, I’m glad you can do some knitting again. You always seem to have cliffhangers in your blog post – now I’m wondering about that yarn shed…

  • DeliaKnits

    I had surgery on my right wrist shortly after I became addicted to knitting and I told the doc. “Just fix it so I can knit again!” I hope you heal quickly!

  • misty

    So glad you can knit again. I feel that the yarn shed incident is compensation for the “great thumb accident of 2012.” Pretty yarn soothes pain and has a calming effect. Like alcohol w/o the beer goggles and hangover.

  • Emma

    Glad you’re back to knitting again, I think I’d go insane if I couldn’t knit!

Leave a Reply

