On My Needles & Between my Pages

On My Needles

I had a really hard time figuring out what WIP to focus on this week.  Probably because I am still slightly overwhelmed by the number of WIPS that I have and really don’t feel like talking about any of them.  I did however finally decide on this little fellow.

Untitled

This is my worsted weight sock Fargyle.  Since taking this picture I have frogged it back to the start because I am going to use the second ball for the cuff, heel, and toe.  Originally I thought I could do the small size, but the length will be too short and since both balls are one off custom dye lots, it’s not like I can get more anytime soon.  I am hoping that a combination of the two balls will provide the extra yardage that I need to make the sock a wearable length.

Between My Pages

(ed. note: No spoilers in the comments, please.  I love my lady wife dearly, but she’s not a patient woman.  I’ve actually put a fair amount of work into not letting any details slip about books she hasn’t read yet, despite badgering and provocation.  I’d really appreciate it if you could help me out with that.  The suspense, that is.  Not the badgering.  Or the provocation.  She needs no help with those.  Especially before coffee.)

Untitled

I have finally moved onto the Song of Ice and Fire series and have almost finished the first novel A Game of Thrones.  Stunningly written, as one of my friends said:  “it’s not just a page turner, it’s a chapter turner.”  Having watched the first two seasons of the TV adaptation on HBO, I am even more impressed by the casting choices that were made to bring the characters to life.  My goal at this point is to have the third book finished before the third seasons airs and I sorely regret not having read the first three books all those many years ago when I bought them for my DH for Christmas.  These are addictive and a must read if you enjoy fantasy novels.  Just prepare yourself, Martin has a special way of making his despicable characters downright horrid.  (I actually had to ask my Husband if a certain character makes it through the first book because I needed to come to terms with having to see or read anything about that person because I found the individual so incredibly offputting.)  All of his characters have flaws that make them easy to love and hate and get really really angry with.  In fact Ned Stark my be the only character in any novel ever that I have cussed out for being a pig headed fool stuck on his notions of pride and chivalry, or more to the point, cussed out at all.  It just never happens.  And for the glory of the seven kingdoms, would someone, anyone, please do something about Geoffrey?  Four more books with him in them may be more than I can bear. (ed. note 2: See!  Clearly fishing.  Don’t fall for it.  Not even a little.)

For more great Wednesday stuff check out WIP Wednesday and the Yarn Along.

7 responses to “On My Needles & Between my Pages

Leave a Reply

