FO Friday – Outside the Box Can be Good

So what do you get when you take three colours that you would never, ever, dream of putting together and decide that maybe you should knit them all into the same garment?

IMG_1475

Well, I suppose that sometimes you end up looking at your final object and screaming in horror while covering your eyes and running from the room shouting “eye bleach! Where’s my eye bleach?” right before you collapse into a quivering heap in the corner self rocking and numbly repeating “can’t un-see that” over and over again until either someone who loves you (or is just super annoyed with you) sedates you and burns the offensive piece of work before you can ever see it again.

IMG_1476

I was pretty sure that the above scenario was how this whole thing was going to end.

Or, somehow, even though you spent the whole time while you were knitting not being sure of what exactly it is that you are doing, you end up with a finished object that you love. Truly and totally love and adore. And that is what happened. I love my Colour Affection (or as one of my other knitting friends calls it, the Colour Affliction, because it really becomes the only thing that you want to knit).

Untitled

Untitled

It is actually remarkable how much I am in love with this shawl. I want to wear it all the time even though it is still over 20 degrees Celsius. I want to wear it even though it has three colours in it that I would normally never wear at the same time. I want to wear it even thought I was unsure of the whole thing right up to the last possible second.

So I have to thank my BFF for suggesting that I knit these three yarns together in the first place, since it never would have occurred to me to do it (though I admit I thought maybe you were a little high on pregnancy hormones at the time for even thinking it).  And I am really happy that I managed to snatch these few remaining balls of Viola before she stopped dyeing yarn.

Have I mentioned that I love this week’s Finished Object a little bit?

For more Friday knitting check out FO Fridays, Creative Friday, and Fiber Arts Friday.

16 responses to “FO Friday – Outside the Box Can be Good

Leave a Reply

