YOP Update December 10th, 2012

2YoPfloralbanner_medium

I am thrilled to report that it has been a busy knitting week for me.  I feel like it’s been years since I was last able to say that.  Nothing from my list has been finished.  However, I did make a very cute ear flap hat.  I really had no intentions of making a hat this past week but the urge to start and complete something was a little overwhelming and thus the hat found its way onto my needles.  So now I have a new hat.  (Pictures to follow when it finished blocking).

My Carousel socks have been replaced with another pair of Jaywalkers.  My yarn and I are much happier now.  Carousel looked so pretty in the pattern and I was so excited to start them over the summer.  Unfortunately  they are, without a doubt, the most catastrophically boring things I have ever tried to knit.  Don’t get me wrong.  We all need simple knitting from time to time.  We have movies to watch, long days at work, babies, quick gifts, and social functions that demand easy patterns that keep your hands busy but allow your mind to be elsewhere.  I know that as much as the next fibre person does.  But these socks? They took mindless to a whole new level.  It got to the point where picking these up to work on them was almost painful.  (I would like to point out that on Rav over 200 pairs of these socks have been made and I think that they are fabulous.  Also, there is nothing wrong with the pattern.  It is well written.  Clearly, these are socks that just don’t match my personality at all.  If any of my knitting friends ever feel the urge to make me a birthday or Christmas gift  a pair of these would rock.  Just saying).  So this weekend they went off the needles.  Before I had time to think about what to do with the yarn next,  84 stitches were cast on and new Jaywalkers were started.  The first leg is finished and I am hoping today to turn the heel.

But, the most exciting news? I am seaming Roam!!!  That’s right folks.  The cardi is coming together.  I admit that I still have to add the hood and a zipper (and I currently don’t have a zipper to add) but those are just little formalities.  The point is the sweater is coming together!!   I may even it finished in time to wear to Christmas dinner!!! (In case you’re wondering I am doing a happy dance while typing this).

Like I said, no real changes in the list.  But here it is anyway.

A Year of Projects the Sequel

WIPS

  • Stained glass mittens
  • Fiddle Heads
  • Cherie (frogged)
  • Slippers – mom
  • Rattlesnake creek (frogged)
  • Roam
  • Oliver’s Blanket (finished Sept 2012)
  • Noro Log Cabin (finished Aug 2012)
  • Algonquin
  • Walnut Grove  (frogged)
  • Masonic Lodge Socks

Cardigans

  • Stage Door
  • Central Park Hoodie
  • Angural Cardi
  • Julia
  • Iced
  • Wallis
  • Bohus
  • Jon’s Sweater (for DH) (In progress)
  • Burr

Shawls & Scarves

  •  Cliff of insanity
  •  Earth and Sky
  • Wingspan (Finished July 2012)
  •  Colour affection (Finished Aug 2012)
  •  Turnagain (In Progress)
  •  Jagged Edge
  • Mini mania
  • Hypernova

Socks

  • Jaywalker(Finished Aug 2012)
  • Lenore
  • Jaywalker #2 (In Progress)
  • Fargyles (In Progress)
  • Staked
  • Flutter Bye’s (In Progress)
  • Aargon
  • Nutkin
  • Cubist socks
  • Annapurna
  • Cookie’s one

Mittens/Gloves

  • Stephen West Gloves
  • Willow Mitts
  • Anne Hanson fingerless gloves
  • Mitt Envy (in progress)
  • Either/Or
  • Ace Fingerless Mitts
  • Diva (Finished Oct 2012)
  • IO
  • Just a Little More
  • Ellipses

Other

  • Locksley
  • Frankenstein (In Progress)

Totals

6/48 Complete

14/43 In Progress

Dishcloth challenge

2/12

Balls in/out

2/12.5 July

19/4 August

0/11 Sept

0/1 Oct

1/8 Nov

0/1 Dec

4 responses to “YOP Update December 10th, 2012

  • disparatedisciplines

    What a challenging list! I love how you’ve tallied everything up. I think I may have to start doing a balls in/balls out count.

  • Renee Anne

    It’s perfectly okay to frog something that just isn’t working out. I’ve frogged my Honey Badger socks and I will make them sometime but I need to have a discussion with my yarn first. Maybe my needles, too. In the meantime, I accidentally started something not on my YOP list and it won’t be done before I start my next one in a few weeks. Oops. Oh well.

  • mary

    I had to fav those jaywalker socks…I have a hat that is miles of stockinette stitch…I keep it around just for those days that require mindless work!

  • babygreens

    woo hoo! \looking forward to seeing the finished Roam 🙂 It’s quite ok to frog, glad the jaywalkers are working out better for you.

Leave a Reply

