There Hasn’t Been A Lot of Blogging Lately……….

I’m not sure what exactly you would call the last 10 months of my life.  Strength building? A bonding exercise with my Husband? An opportunity to learn many valuable life lessons that have (truly) made us wiser and will in the long run make us much happier? An adventure of the most unpleasant sort?  My dad, (an ever graceful and polite man),  summed it up fairly well when he said to me “You know that old saying that you never are given more than you can handle?  Well that’s just a whole lot of phooey isn’t is?”  Except the word he used wasn’t “phooey” and generally I try to keep that language out of my writing.

There were nights when my Hubby and I would crawl into bed and realise that we hadn’t eaten dinner because we had both been left too exhausted from the day we had just had and were too overwhelmed by the thought of what might happen the following day to have even suggested cooking anything.  The bottom line is that it’s been a wild ride and it seems we may actually be coming to the end of.  Which is all just as well because I had really reached the point where I had had enough of this ride.  We’ve figured out what needs to be figured out and learned our lessons well and now it’s time to move on and maybe have the whole world stop spinning so fast ALL THE TIME!!!!!

There were a few things that just fell to the wayside.  I’ve almost completely stopped running.  I miss it.  It’s such a good way to clear my head.  So my goal this week is three short runs of  2-3K (think that works out to about 4 miles/run).  And I couldn’t bring myself to sit down and type any words here.  I thought about it.  I just couldn’t do it.

But, the one thing I did do was keep on knitting.  I knit through it all.  I knit because I needed something to comfort me.  I knit because I needed a distraction.  Sometimes I knit because I really didn’t know what else to do.

And I knit a lot of these.

Lux lattes2

I’ve been on a sock binge.  The Vanilla Lattes that I discovered in the late autumn became my pattern of choice.  These have become my “go to” socks.  They are fast and simple, but not boring.  I can put them down and pick them up later and with a glance know exactly where I am.  I don’t need the pattern any more and I know how to fudge them a little if I have too.  Some days they were all I had the energy to knit. But, I can’t really complain about these socks.  And I know my Hubby isn’t either.

Lux Lattes1

These are his first pair.  And his next pair is almost finished.

IMG_1840

More pairs are planned for Christmas gifts.  And that’s fine with me.  This simple little sock pattern has served me well and I see no reason to not keep making them.

One little update from the past few months.  My SIL has recovered from her surgical issues  and there doesn’t appear to be any lasting effects.  (We all are very happy about that).  And, she makes very tasty shortcake.

IMG_1842

That’s the same dog who licks my yarn eyeing up the shortcake.

PS Thanks for all the on-line love. It really doesn’t go unnoticed.

4 responses to “There Hasn’t Been A Lot of Blogging Lately……….

  • Renee Anne

    Glad to see you stopping in, if only briefly 🙂

  • Ruth

    Glad to see you drop in and hopefully you’ll be able to make your way back.

  • A Morning Grouch

    Glad you’re back! And more importantly, glad the SIL is okay – sounds like it must’ve been serious. 😦

  • kimmery4

    I am so happy to see you back. but sorry that the past few months have been so difficult. I have been married 31 years, and I just need to say that there have been rough stretches over the years–but they drew my husband and I closer. Now when things get tough, we look at each other and say, “It is going to get better. We have survived worse!” Your socks are delightful and I am glad that knitting brought you some of the comfort you needed.
    *hugs and smiles sent to you*

Leave a Reply

