Year of Projects Part Three

3rd_Yop_Banner_medium

A new year of projects starts this week. And even though last year I fell face down into a pile of wooly goodness and didn’t emerge for a very long time, it’s time to start over.

This past year I shied away from my blog and the Come-blog-Along group. But fortunately Tink was and is amazing and the group just kept right on going.  (Seriously Tink, you are awesome!)
But a new year is about new beginnings so here we are.

This year I am taking a slightly different approach to my projects. Instead of making a huge list and struggling to keep up with it, I am setting the goal of knitting with five skeins of yarn each month from my stash. I’m not setting a number of projects that need to be completed each month instead I am focusing on continuing to decrease the yarn I already have. If 5 skeins are all made into one Cardigan, great! Mission accomplished. If those 5 skeins become a couple pairs of socks and a shawl, that’s great too. (The other part of the equation is that 5 skeins out does not then mean 5 skeins in). That works out to 60 skeins by the end of the year.

Since there really is no right or wrong way to make a YOP set of goals this is the way I feel that my “list” serve me best.
With that in mind, here are the first set of skeins to be knit with.

First I want to finish knitting with these skeins. The pattern is Mama Vertebrae and the yarn is one of the my very first purchases of IndigoDragonFly yarn. It sat in my stash for a very long time before telling me what it wanted to be.  But now it has, and it’s going to be a lovely autumn cardi.

20130702-090616.jpg

This skein is next. These are going to be socks for my dad for Christmas. I am using the Vanilla Latte pattern again. (This is a super versatile pattern. The yarn will dictate if they are for a man or a woman. Large for the boys and medium for the girls. I’ve lost count of the number of pairs I’ve made.)

20130702-090936.jpg

Next to go will be this yarn made into a Crazed Shawl.  Due to some fancy swapping with my BFF I have two skeins of this and she has two skeins of blue so we are both happy and have a colour that we love.

Untitled

And then if all goes really well (and I realize that this is getting in into the realm of delusional), then this skein will be a pair of Hermione socks for my SIL who made no secret of her desire for a pair of hand knit socks this Christmas.

Untitled

That’s my goals for this month.  Wish me luck.  Looking forward to seeing everyone else’s finishes.

14 responses to “Year of Projects Part Three

  • Marsha

    Wonderful list. And very achievable too. Glad to have you back on board. Thanks for reminding me of the Vanilla Latte socks. I have had the pattern forever and keep forgetting about it. Will go grab that one so I can get back on track with my socks too.

  • supertinks

    Huzzah! Welcome back lovely! It wasn’t just me that kept the group going, that’s down to all the amazing people who’ve joined in over the last two years.

  • Lucy Bowen

    You have some lovely colours there – looking forward to seeing what you do with them 🙂

  • Ruth

    Lovely to have you back and your so right Tinks did an awesome job ! I love your take on the “list” this year and I think each year we learn which is the best way to tackle a year of projects and we will each come up with our own winning formula. Love the projects you’ve lined up for this month and each will look great in their chosen yarns.

  • Renee Anne

    Tink is quite fabulous. I think sometimes, taking a different approach to knitting is helpful.

    I like lists that I can tinker with and add and delete and all sorts of other things.

  • Sandra Licher

    I love all your projects and the the yarns are super! I am curious though how much yarn do you buy when you don’t know what you’re going to make with it? I have no stash except for what goes with a project. Is there something wrong with me? Never mind that question…. but I would like to buy some yarns when I see them on sale but never know how much I should buy. I’m perplexed! LOL!

  • Minding My Own Stitches

    Other than the no skeins in part, this all sounds very manageable. I just love the vanilla latte pattern – can’t wait to see yours!

    Now don’t mind me, but I’m going online yarn shopping 🙂

  • Kepanie

    Your yarn roll is terrific. I love each one, especially that sock yarn for your dad’s socks.

  • kimmery4

    So happy to see you back! Your list looks perfect for what you have in mind as a goal–All the yarn for this month looks superb for the projects chosen for them. I had not seen the Mama Vertebrae before, but the baby one is on my list this year too. I do have one question? How are you not going to purchase any yarn for a year??? 🙂
    *smiles*

  • mary

    Wonderful way to do organize projects and make a dent in the stash pile..It will be fun to follow along for another year with you..welcome back!

  • carlacano

    I am also working on decreasing my stash. I am working on birthday and Christmas presents like crazy. I also need to get back to my storage building to get more yarn before I go crazy and buy more 😉

  • Emma

    Welcome back! Good to see you again. And that’s a great aim. I love all the yarn, especially the last sock yarn, it’s gorgeous.

  • Natalie

    Good luck 🙂 It looks a lot more manageable than what I remember of your previous list!

  • Sandy

    LOVE this idea! Seriously what a genius you are. Some neat yarn, cool colors. Tried to see the shawl pattern, but the picture doesn’t show up very well. Good luck with the list, I think you’re really onto something.

Leave a Reply

