I Don’t Think Knitting is Supposed to Have a “Good Side”

Tuesday, I learned a very important lesson.  There are times when, in fact, I am too tired to knit.  On some level I knew that already.  There have been times when I have put the knitting away or switched to something easier because I was tired.  Tuesday, however, I didn’t do that.  Tuesday I picked a new and very simple little pattern off Rav to use up some of the Mission Falls tiny little ends that I have been hoarding in my cotton container.

I did my work that needed to be finished, and since I had an unexpected day at home due to the flooding that happened the night before, I decided would watch more Downton Abbey and knit.  My first clue that something may not be about to go all that well was when I was unwilling to walk 2 feet to change the disc and instead ended up watching whatever was on the movie channels at the time because it was easier (if slightly less enjoyable).

So I picked up my needles and started knitting.  And at first it seemed like it was all going so well.  I was having a little trouble keeping track of where I was in the pattern, (which for the record should not have been a difficult thing at all. I just kept forgetting how to count).  At some point I realized that I made a mistake and then promptly decided that I didn’t really care all that much and really that’s when things started going downhill.  In the end I had this.

Untitled

Note the use of funky “enhancements” to mask just how lopsided the darn thing is.

A slightly lopsided star dishcloth that initially I was going to send to my Mum as part of her birthday present, but since there is no way that I would be able to convince her that I was not highly intoxicated during the entire knitting process, I have opted instead to use it in my own kitchen and to make a new one for her.  First I just have to remember how to count to fifteen.

Pattern: Starfish cloth

2 responses to “I Don’t Think Knitting is Supposed to Have a “Good Side”

Leave a Reply

