YOP Update July 14th, 2013

3rd_Yop_Banner_medium

Knitting had to take a  bit of a back seat this week to the rest of life.  It’s been a little bit of a wild week filled with flooding and blackouts and scrambling to finish assignments.  But, somehow, I made it to Sunday again.

First, I made progress on my Dad’s socks.  I have decided to rename them my Blackout Socks since a large chunk of the progress that was made on them happened on my balcony during the two blackouts we had this week.  Since there was very little else we could do but sit on our balcony waiting for the power to come back on I had a few hours of “forced” knitting time and managed to finish the first sock.  I am very pleased with how they are coming together and am quite certain that my Dad will be very happy with them.

Untitled

Pattern: Vanilla Lattes
Click the pic for the link

I also managed to block my cardi this week.  You don’t really need the lights on for that and I pinned it while we still had light coming in from outside.  It still needs a collar, but it is almost finished.   I cast it on back in the end of May and am shocked and thrilled at the idea of having a completed Cardi in under two months!

Untitled

Mama Vertebrae is coming along nicely.

Lastly Crazed reminded me that it is important to read the whole pattern when you knit something.  It also made me very thankful that I was able to contact one of my other knitting friends, (thanks Dr. S), who apparently does remember to read the whole pattern and she had me back on track in no time.

Untitled

Set up chart is complete!

I did also finish one little project that I hadn’t mentioned last week.  But that’s a different post 😉

Hope everyone else had a wonderful fibre filled week.

Skeins out/in

July: 0/0

9 responses to “YOP Update July 14th, 2013

  • Laura

    I read about the terrible flooding and blackouts in Toronto. Hope things are getting better. We had flooding in our area too but it wasn’t nearly as bad. Looks like you’ve made a lot of progress though! Congrats on a completed card!

  • Minding My Own Stitches

    Cute socks! We had lots of power failures too – forced knitting time for me as well 🙂

  • Lucy Bowen

    Love the cardi – hope this next week is slightly less eventful 🙂

  • Ruth

    Love the socks and what an appropriate name. That cardi is gorgeous, I love it and have added the pattern to my favourites. Hope you all have no more floods.

  • mary

    Thankfully you made it through all the power issues and the flooding.. One of my best purchases was a generator the keeps my house functioning during outages.. it’s great..

  • Sandra Licher

    Amazing you got so much done considering! I have no excuses! LOL! The sock look great and I’m sure your Dad will really appreciate them…nothing like walking in hand knit socks…who knew????
    A sweater in a month? That’s something to strive for but not for some time with me….frogging alone takes a month! LOL!
    What’s the last one in the pretty gold yarn? I like what I see! Have a better week and may the “force” (electricity) be with you!

  • Angela Hockabout - Knit Luck

    Ooo is that Trekking?? Love that sock yarn. Makes such great socks that last forever. I might have to find some in my stash after I finish my lorna’s laces socks. Your look great! And the cardi ain’t bad either!

  • Kepanie

    You certainly did well with the blackouts. We haven’t had that here for quite some time. I smiled at your love for variegated yarn.

  • Emma

    Gosh, flooding and blackouts, how awful! I hope everything is ok now. And the socks are looking great, I really like the simplicity. Plus the yarn for your shawl is gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

