Projects and Paper July 17, 2013

Wednesday Photo

On My Needles:

This falls into the category of Oops!  A few months ago on Ravelry I discovered the pattern for Vivid.  For months I would log into Rav and somehow find myself staring at this blanket.  I would check out other people’s blankets and think about making one for myself.  Then I would remind myself that I have a very limited amount of knitting time right now, and that I really don’t need another blanket, and I would walk away.  And then I would come back the next day and do the whole routine again.  In May, I broke down and added it to my queue (so that way I could go and stare at it whenever I felt like it).  And since then I have ignored it…..mostly.  Until this past Sunday, when in a moment of weakness spurred on by exhaustion and a serious case of startitis I found myself downloading the pattern and digging through the yarn stash to find acceptable yarn.  And then, in the blink of a knitterly eye there I was half awake on the sofa  with the yarn on the needles and my first square cast on.  OOPS!!!!

Untitled

And you know what?  I love this pattern! I was a  little concerned that I was nowhere close to getting the right dimensions, but a little bath in some hot soapy water and Voilà!! Dimensions achieved.  Two little variations to the original pattern – it should actually have two more border rows but in my dreary eyed state I read “repeat the last two rows four times” and missed the “four times more bit.”  Also, try as I might on Sunday, learning a new cast on method just wasn’t going well, and I gave in and opted to go with a long tail cast on.  Each will be cast on the same way and I’m calling it a designer feature.   And…..the whole thing is being made with stash yarn!!!!

Between My Pages

This past week I was able to indulge in something I haven’t really been able to do for months.  I got to read a book that wasn’t school related!!!!  It really was a joy to read for pleasure again.  And what I read was this.

IMG_1899

Yes this is the same book that is the basis for the movie Fight Club.  First let me start by saying I love the movie.  I think that it’s brilliant and well acted and I have watched it more than a few times.  Reading the book has not changed my opinion of the movie at all.  In fact, it has given me a whole new respect for the movie because I am not really certain how the directors managed to make something as streamlined as they did from this book.  To point out, I think the book is a very enjoyable read and well written.  But one could say it is, perhaps, a bit odd.  However, if you enjoyed the movie give the book a go.  You won’t be disappointed.  And, in my humble opinion the book has a way better ending than the movie does.

For more great Wednesday stuff check out WIP Wednesday and the Yarn Along.

3 responses to “Projects and Paper July 17, 2013

Leave a Reply

