YOP Update Aug 5th, 2013

3rd_Yop_Banner_medium

I can’t believe that the month of July is already over.  It went by faster then I could keep up.  In reality, I probably could have kept up a little better, but last week my Hubby and I decided that we needed to “vacation” on our balcony.  Once I was home from my internship and my school work was done we decamped to the balcony for dinner and drinks and usually stayed there until after dark.  We ignored the computer and our phones and spent a lot of time talking about going on a real vacation again. It was lovely and I have this feeling it may happen again.

But, I did accomplish two things from my YOP wish list for July.

First, I finished my Mama Vertebrae.

Untitled

I’ll post more pictures later this week.  Just wanted to give you a little sneak peek.

But it is clearly finished and with that accomplishment I managed the second goal  of  having five skeins out of my stash.  (The sweater only took four, but I gave the last skein to my BFF so she can add it to her 5 skeins of Turtle Slippers).    Admittedly I ended up inheriting 3 skeins from another knitter so I am in reality only 2 skeins closer to being organized.   What can you do?  How would I call myself a knitter if I turned down three free skeins of beautiful yarn that needed a new home? That would make me a pretty crummy knitter, and a terrible friend don’t you think?

The other knitting that seems to have taken over is Vivid.  I love knitting these squares.  I’m up to eight and finished with the white yarn,  The remainder of the yarn has been tossed into the pile for the EBI so it’s win/win!

Untitled

This is the most recent picture of the Epic Blanket of Insanity, (EBI). It’s actually much larger than this. I really need to take new pictures.

Untitled

Squares for Vivid.

Untitled

I would like to say that I have a plan for the rest of the month.  But, I really kind of don’t.  I am really hoping to finish the socks for my dad and I’m fairly certain that the blanket will get more love.  Beyond that, I’m not sure where the month will take me.

My goal: 5 skeins out/month

Skeins out/in

July 5/3

August 4/0 (I de-stashed 3 skeins this morning! Yay – yummy yarn finding a new home! Last skein is in the blanket)!

9 responses to “YOP Update Aug 5th, 2013

  • Minding My Own Stitches

    I love Vivid …and very nearly added it to my queue. Your colours are gorgeous! A balcony-cation? Great idea! Sometimes it feels like we’re a million miles away in our back garden at night, especially on the nights we break out the big rum glasses 🙂

  • A Morning Grouch

    I love your balcony vacation!! What a great idea.

  • mmmyc6

    Great everything! De-stashing is always a great feeling… my stash is slowly getting used up… stash busting projects are awesome for that.
    Balcony Vaycay… hmmm… thinking a back yard get away might be in order…. trick will be to put down the phone… eek.

  • laralorelei

    I love your Vivid squares and the EBI! I think I may have the crochet equivalent of your EI, or would have if it wasn’t hidden deep in some box or other. Maybe I need to make it a feature of my YOP and just get the thing done.

  • Ruth

    Can’t wait to see some more pics of Mamma Vertebrae and your right you’d have been a crummy knitter and friend so your only option was to give those three poor skeins a home ! Your last week sounds so lovely, real switching off from technology and keeping it simple, very tempting. Vivid looks great and I love the colours your using.

  • Underground Crafter

    Your staycation sounds great! I am looking forward to seeing how the Vivid turns out. I recently saw the pattern for the first time and it is lovely.

  • Ylva

    I don’t think I’ve reached the “destashing point” in my yarn collecting yet! I still just buy more and more and more 😛

  • Emma (GirlAnachronismE)

    Mama Vertebrae looks great from what I can see, but we definitely need more pictures to ooh and ahh over! And I love the squares for Vivid, but two blankets at once? I think using the word insane in the name of one about covers it 😛

  • Kepanie

    You are adventurous to have blankets like that going on at the same time! It takes a real love for that kind of project. I love that photo of the EPI. It looks like it’s a table runner at a restaurant.

Leave a Reply

