Not Really a Knitting Update

3rd_Yop_Banner_medium

Hopefully tomorrow I will have one of those.  You see I had blog posts planned for the last week and a bit, but I can’t remember what they were.  I truly mean that.  I’m fairly certain that they had something to do with yarn and knitting.  At least it seems like a logical assumption.  But about 10 days ago I started having a very scratchy throat. About five days after that I started getting sick, well and truly sick.  It was the kind of sick that makes you not eat for four days and that makes you cough up your own body weight in gack.  It was the kind of sick that makes you stare at your knitting in the few minutes of lucid thought that are available in the day and think, not that long ago I knew how to make this yarn and these needles work together to produce something pretty. Today I am not that person.

(Actually today I am the person who realized that it 7:30 pm and I hadn’t brushed my teeth or my hair and really that’s probably okay since I’ve only been awake for about 3 hours and never more than 20 minutes at a time).  And really it wouldn’t matter if I could remember how to knit because my hands ache, my eyes have been replaced by small glowing orbs, and I am painfully aware of every one of my toe nails.  I couldn’t knit even if I wanted to and when I comes right down to it, I didn’t want to. I wanted to curl up and sleep and drink orange juice and do my very best to get any food into my system.  And that lasted five horrid days.

And then, just as I was starting to resemble some level of humanity, my hubby got it since really isn’t that a pillar of a good marriage?  You know sharing things?  Even when those things are fever and gross and whatever the hell else that was.

The point is I literally have very few recollections from the last week and a bit. I think I watched a couple movies. I knit for a grand total of 15 minutes and I coughed and coughed and coughed.

And know I’m trying to finish the Christmas knitting which might happen. But more importantly both my Hubby and I are on the mend and only having minor coughing spasims. And take it from me, if anyone recommends the 2013 flu as a weight loss idea tell them to go hang. It is just not worth it.

Hope everyone else had a better couple of weeks!

8 responses to “Not Really a Knitting Update

Leave a Reply

