Fibre & Paper Jan 7.15

bambu-simple-abstract-wallpaper-900x1440

 

The Fibre

Made almost entirely from odds and ends of other balls, this fun little blanket is near completion and the first on my list of WIPS to finish. (It is actually almost finished. I just want to have a big reveal later don’t have any recent pictures).

Untitled

Untitled

 

I bought almost no new balls for this blanket.  Maybe 4?  The rest were from bits of Noro I had kicking around and a bag of ends, (okay, a huge bag of ends,) from my knitting guru.  I think that they were left over from a couple of lizard ridge blankets and a log cabin.

The pattern is 64 crayons and the yarn is mostly Kuryeon  with some Silk Garden tossed in for good measure.

The Paper
It’s taken me a long time to get into this book. Not because it isn’t fantastic. Not because it doesn’t grab you from the very first sentence. No, it’s because we lent the book to one of our friends and now it is out somewhere in the void ethereal and we have no idea if it will ever come home. Fortunately, we have other friends who have the book, and one of them found their copy and was kind enough to pass it on to me. I would like to point out that the Hubby read this multiple times before it went missing, so I knew it worth reading.

download

Think Oliver Twist meets Robin Hood and that would be close. Fantastically written with a story that will hook you by the end of the first paragraph and characters that you really want to know more about, I am enjoying ever word. I also can understand why a completely different friend, who’s copy of the book also went missing, claims this is her favourite book of all time.
So I guess the moral here is it’s a great read that you should never, ever, lend out.

For more great Wednesday stuff check out the Yarn Along at Ginny’s.

4 responses to “Fibre & Paper Jan 7.15

Leave a Reply

