YOP Update February 8th, 2015

wpid-14399261454_4ea86ed89b.jpg

 

This is a very exciting and special update.  This is not because Iced is finished and keeping me cozy warm as I type this.  (Though it is pretty cool).  Here’s a picture of me not wearing it.

IMG_2704-0

It is special because this weekend we went to visit my SIL and my BIL and when I walked in to their house, my SIL didn’t get up to greet me.  Why is that special and not incredibly rude you might ask? It’s because she was crocheting.  She was sitting on the sofa, with a crochet hook in her hand and a project in her lap and she was crocheting.  She was actually doing Tunisian crochet, which she has taught herself THE NIGHT BEFORE WE ARRIVED!!!!  (The project on the left is her first project.  The project on the right is the fancy crochet she started the night before we arrived).IMG_2711-0

 

If she was a huggy type person, I would have flung myself across the room and grabbed her.  But she’s not and after 16 years of being part of her family I can accept that and find ways to express happiness that doesn’t  make her try to crawl out of her skin and flee the room.  I can do things like ask her about what’s she’s doing and be genuinely interested because 1)  I  am a fibre person and she is working with fibre and 2)  I have no idea what the heck she is actually doing.  It is no secret that I don’t know how to crochet.  I can’t read the patterns (Ed. note:  Seriously:  Since when is a half double not the same as a single?  What is wrong with you people?).  I don’t know how to make the hook move.   I certainly didn’t know that a crochet hook could be the size of your arm and that you could leave stitches on it.  But, my SIL did.  The next day, when we were driving around to various wineries and distilleries, we were sharing a back seat and she had her fibre and I had my fibre and we were both so very happy.

 A little sampling from the wineries and distilleries.

IMG_2703-0

 

IMG_2699-0

I was knitting a new pair of socks with this.

IMG_2680

By the time we left she had this.

IMG_2712

Overall, it was very successful.

And now for the list.

Redacted YOP List

WIPs:
1. Icedfinished Feb 2015
2. 64 crayonsFinished Jan 2015
3. Vincent price socks – should be much closer than they are.
4. 10 more squares for Nordic Holiday

Not WIPs:
1. Lumberjack X4 first pair finished Jan 20. Three to go.
2. Baby gift for the April baby
3. Socks X3 – patterns currently unknown

And because a weekend wouldn’t be complete without the dog.

IMG_2682

 

 

5 responses to “YOP Update February 8th, 2015

  • kimmery4

    That would make me happy too! There is something so relaxing when you are able to sit next to someone else while you both engage in conversation and creativity. Well done on the sister in law!
    xoxoxo

  • Ruth

    Iced is gorgeous and yayyy to your sil crocheting. I love tunisian crochet, to me it gives a much nicer fabric and I like the whole leaving the stitches on the hook thing, do keep us posted on what she’s making and I hope you enjoy your visits so much more now.

  • Marsha

    That is so exciting. I love when I have a relative that I can share my love of fiber with. The winery/distillery tour looks like fun. Haven’t done that in years, but it was always so much fun. Great job on your sweater. I like the buttons on it.

  • Lucy Bowen

    Oh that gin looks lovely!! Hurrah for your sil. I love the look of crochet and can do a tiny bit if pushed. Your sil’s looks gorgeous so neat. Can’t wait to see iced in its full glory!!

  • silkandwool

    It is so wonderful that you now have a fellow crafter in the family! And you project is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

