Year of Projects Update – November 20th

First I ‘d like to say a big “thank you” to everyone who’s taken the time to pop over to my blog in the last week.  I’ve barely had time to put posts together and I haven’t been able to visit anyone’s blog  in days!  I really appreciate all the comments.  The good news is  my writing obligations for the new issue of Knitty magazine are almost finished and by the end of the day I will have submitted the last of my reviews and (thankfully) I finished all the data entry last weekend.  So my regular “sit with my coffee and read other people’s blog time” will no longer be  “sit with my coffee and read and write book reviews time”.  It’s not really a complaint. I enjoy writing for Knitty.  I’ve just missed your blogs!!!! I promise to come back this week.

One the knitting front, the Astricks shawl is in the very final stages with only a little bit of the bind off left.  I did in fact knit the wing in the correct direction so that was a huge relief.  I did  however have to deal with one more huge disaster that involved steeking to fix it.  I really can’t get further into it at this point as it’s all still too traumatic and the thought of explaining why I had to take a pair of scissors to the shawl still sort of makes my blood run a little cold.  But, there actually is the real possibility of finishing the shawl sometime soon!

Also, my BFF’s Christmas gift is well under way and working out far better than the above mentioned nightmare shawl.  I know at least her gift will be finished on  time.  (Beginning to wonder about some of the other ones, but it’s too early in the morning to fret about it.)  Overall it’s not been a bad knitting week.

I hope that everyone had a great knitting week!!

So here’s the list and the Mr. Linky

WIPS:

  • Clockwork (cast on June  &  part of the Knit-a-long of Doom) (Finished July 2011)
  • Wallis Cardi (cast on August of last year)
  • Rattlesnake Creek socks (cast on about 1 1/2 years ago)
  • Noro Log Cabin Blanket (cast on in June & it’s Christmas Knitting)
  • Toe Up Socks
Christmas:
  • Super secret BFF gift (I know you read this.  No peeking, but you’ll like it.) (Finished Sept  2011)
  • Super Secret Husband gift (He reads it too.) (In Progress)
  • Urbana  (Finished July 2011) (Dad)
  • Podsters
  • Saturday morning slippers x2 (FIL, mom)
  • Minion (Teiff) (Finished October 2011)
  • Gargoyle (Sean) (Finished October 2011))
  • Strangling Vines scarf (Christine) (In Progress)
  • Windcheif hat (dad) (Finished November 2011)
  • Cherie socks  (mom)(In Progress)
  • AStericks (MIL) (In Progress)
  • Dog Chewie (Maggie) (Finished October 2011)
  • Super Secret Little J gift (See first super secret gift.  That’s her mum.)(Finished Oct 2011)
  • Kleenex covers x6 (Finished October)
  • Sachets x6
  • Algonquin
  • Washcloth x2 ( I really thought I was finished with those!)  (Finished Sept 2011)
 
Shawls
  • Herbivore
  • Flamboyan
  • Reunion Cowl
Cardis
  • Roam
Socks
  • Lenore (The third) (In Progress)
  • Flaming Desire 
  • Staked  
  • Fishbone Gansey  (Part of the Knit-a-long of Doom) (Finished October 2011)
  • Cut & Paste
  • My Vampire Boyfriend (Part of Nerd Wars) (In Progress)
  • Matrimony Socks
  • Masonic Lodge
  • Flutter-by
  • Aragorn
  • Duckies  (Finished Aug 2011)
Newly added
  • West Knits Mystery KAL (Finished Sept 2011)
  • Julia
  • Minion Army (Finished October 2011)
  • Elf Earwarmers (In Progress)
 
The running totals so far are:

14/43 complete

12/29  in progress


11 responses to “Year of Projects Update – November 20th

Leave a comment