Daily Archives: April 23, 2012

3KCBWDAY1 Colour Lovers

People observe the colors of a day only at its beginnings and its ends, but to me it’s quite clear that a day merges through a multitude of shades and intonations, with each passing moment. A single hour can consist of thousands of different colors. Waxy yellows, cloud-spat blues. Murky darknesses. In my line of work, I make it a point to notice them. ”
― Markus Zusak, The Book Thief

Is there anything more visually important in life than colour? It affects our emotions, our appetites, and our sense of tranquility. Political parties can be identified by a colour. Religious holidays and major social holidays often are associated with colour. (If you think I’m wrong, what colour is Halloween or Easter?) Good cooks know that you are more likely to eat a meal of colourful well plated food than a meal of bland white or brown. And black cats were evil, and harbingers of doom. Colour has been an important aspect of our lives since the beginning of time and will continue to be.

So it stands to reason that as fibre people we have our preferences for one colour over another. For me it’s pretty clear-cut. Red, indigo, black and blue. The deeper and richer the better. According to What’s your sign.com, these choices mean that I am a passionate, imaginative, expressive, forceful type of person. I think that can translate to “Type A” personality with a smattering of creativity just for balance. And you know something? That’s not wrong. I am not a complete perfectionist or a rigid schedule follower, but I am willing to admit to having many “type A” traits. It’s also interesting that my choices correspond heavily with my Zodiac sign. I’ve been told that us dead of winter babies are more likely to pick darker more serious colours and at least for me that theory holds true.

However, when it comes to my colour choices for my fibre selection, it depends on who I’m knitting for. I will leave my colour comfort zones (and believe I have one. Just ask the little skein of yellow yarn that inadvertently made its way briefly into my stash. It came as part of a gift and I tried really hard to convince myself it would be okay to knit with. I never got there and thankfully I know the dyer and upon finding out that I received the yellow skein she exchanged for me ASAP) if I know that the person I am knitting for really loves a specific colour. But for myself, it’s simple and easy and straight forward. It does lead to things like having “When I Bit Him I Could Taste the Ocean” in multiple bases. But I don’t care. I love the colours that I love. They make me happy and cozy and comfortable. They’re the colours I knit with and wear on my body and my fingernails. They are me and I’m happy to be in those colours.

Just don’t look at my socks. The rainbow of colours I am willing to knit my socks in discounts everything I just said. They are loud and bright and fun and never, ever, yellow.

To find other posts from today’s topic, google 3KCBWDAY1.