Daily Archives: April 12, 2012

Fishy!!! FO Friday & a Dishcloth Update

A few weeks ago I discovered the fish Tawashi on Ravelry. I immediately had to resist the urge to cast one on. They are cute, fast, stash busters and can be used for the Dishcloth Challenge.
But this week, I could no longer resist and had to make one. The pattern calls for “a small amount of yarn” so I took what I perceived to be a small amount of yarn out of my stash and set to work. A very short period of time later, I had this. It’s a fish scrubby ready to scrub my dirty dishes clean.

20120412-205057.jpg
It is clearly a fish. And it’s cute and fast. But what shocked me was the minuscule amount of yarn it did actually use.
So I decided to make another one. I started by bringing out far less yarn. 22 grams to be exact.

20120412-205315.jpg
This is what 22g of Mission Falls ends look like.
Another very short time later I had this little guy to match the first one.

20120412-215552.jpg

And after weighing the yarn that was remaining I discovered that each of these little guys only uses 12 grams of yarn.  That’s a tiny amount.  Really tiny.  I see a few more of these in my future very soon to use up the itty bitty ends that I thought were too small for anything.

For more Friday knitting check out FO FridaysCreative Friday, Fiber Arts Friday, and Fibers on Friday

The original idea for dishcloth challenge came from  Ruth.  Head on over to her blog to read all about it.