Daily Archives: April 29, 2012

KCBWDAY7 – A Crafting Balance

I knit.  Plain and simple, I am a knitter.  I spin too, thus occasionally making my own pretty yarn that I will in theory knit with.  But really I’m a one trick pony (unless you count being a fairly good cook, a yogini, and a sometimes decent runner).  Crochet is a foreign language to me.  I am in awe when I meet a really good crocheter, ’cause to me it’s magic.  I am convinced that there is some strange alchemy that occurs when one picks up a crochet hook and some yarn.  I picture those who can crochet the same light as the kids who go to Hogwarts.  They know where the secret passage is and then they get to have access to all the secrets of the fibre universe that us plain knitting folk aren’t aware of.

I’ve tried to figure it out how to crochet.  But the patterns and directions all seem to be written in some odd ancient language that I can never find translations for and I honestly think that I would have better luck learning Aramaic then I did trying to figure out crochet terms. (I mean really, what the hell is a half double crochet?  Wouldn’t that just be a crochet?)  And I think that’s why I like knitting.  It makes sense to me.  It’s not magic or strange, it’s straight forward.  You move loops from one needle to the other needle, and voilà!  You’re  knitting!

I do own a few crochet hooks and I was insanely irritated  when the Mexican security guard took away my sock yarn sized crochet hook before I was allowed on the plane .  (Has there ever been a rash of people killed by crochet hooks?  Was there a crochet hook serial killer in Mexico that I don’t know about?  I use it to pick up dropped stitches in socks! It was tiny and I’m not sure I could have killed a large spider with it let alone a human being.  What was I going to do, poke the person beside me with it?  And that would have been my husband, who is used to that sort of behaviour.  Anyway, moral of the story, pack your fibre related things in your luggage when returning home from Mexico.  They are not fibre friendly.  But I digress.)   My crochet hooks are for edging and dropped stitches and provisional cast on and nothing more.

Part of me would like to learn.  Part of me, the sane rational part that very rarely makes an appearance of any sort when it comes to my knitting life knows that’s a really bad idea.  Have you seen my WIPs list (if not, have a look around the blog.  I post it on a fairly regular basis….)?  The last thing I need is something that causes more WIPs to pile up.  Me and my knitting needles cause enough trouble with that to last for many lifetimes.


YOP update April 29th, 2012

Its been a very fun and busy fibre week for me.  First, I FINISHED SOMETHING!!!! I feel like I haven’t said that in weeks and weeks.  Oeste is done and off my list and not a moment too soon.  It counts as my April shawl and as a WIP for Nerd Wars.  And, I made real progress on Roam and finished the back.  I’ve moved onto the front left.  It’s all very exciting.  This week also saw some wonderful things coming in the mail and the Knitters Frolic.  I’m posting about all those things this week.

I also fell down hard on some yarn and increased my stash a little bit.  But, four of those balls were payment for working a booth a the frolic yesterday so I don’t feel too bad about the whole thing. ( Maybe just a tiny bit guilty.)  I guess I’ll just have to knit more.

Hope everyone else had a great week.

Happy knitting.

WIPS:
  • Clockwork (cast on June  &  part of the Knit-a-long of Doom) (Finished July 2011)
  • Wallis Cardi (cast on August of last year)
  • Rattlesnake Creek socks (cast on about 1 1/2 years ago)
  • Noro Log Cabin Blanket (cast on in June & it’s Christmas Knitting)
  • Toe Up Socks
Christmas:
  • Super secret BFF gift (I know you read this.  No peeking, but you’ll like it.) (Finished Sept  2011)
  • Super Secret Husband gift (He reads it too.) (Finished Dec 2011)
  • Urbana  (Finished July 2011) (Dad)
  • Podsters
  • Saturday morning slippers x2 (FIL, mom)
  • Minion (Teiff) (Finished October 2011)
  • Gargoyle (Sean) (Finished October 2011))
  • Strangling Vines scarf (Christine) (Finished Dec 2011)
  • Windcheif hat (dad) (Finished November 2011)
  • Cherie socks  (mom)(In Progress)
  • AStericks (MIL) (Finished November 2011)
  • Dog Chewie (Maggie) (Finished October 2011)
  • Super Secret Little J gift (See first super secret gift.  That’s her mum.) (Finished Oct 2011)
  • Kleenex covers x6 (Finished October)
  • Algonquin (In Progress)
  • Washcloth x2 ( I really thought I was finished with those!)  (Finished Sept 2011)
 
Shawls
  • Flamboyan (Finished Jan 2012)
  • Reunion Cow(Finished Jan 2012)
Cardis
  • Roam (In Progress)
Socks
  • Lenore (The third) (Finished Dec 2011)
  • Flaming Desire 
  • Staked  
  • Fishbone Gansey  (Part of the Knit-a-long of Doom) (Finished October 2011)
  • Cut & Paste
  • My Vampire Boyfriend (Part of Nerd Wars) (In Progress)
  • Cauchy 
  • Masonic Lodge (In Progress)
  • Flutter-by (Finished February 2012)
  • Aragorn
  • Duckies  (Finished Aug 2011)
12 Shawls in 2012 (first 6)
  • Different Lines (Finished March 2012)
  • Sharktooth (In Progress)
  • Flavia (Finished Jan 2012)
  • Stephen West Club shawl (February 2012)
  • Stephen West Club shawl (Feb) (Finished April)
  • Walnut Grove (In Progress)
 Dishcloth Challenge (first 12)
  • 10/12 complete
 
Newly added
  • West Knits Mystery KAL (Finished Sept 2011)
  • Julia
  • Minion Army (Finished October 2011)
  • Blue Whale shawl – replacement MIL Gift (Finished Dec 2011)
 
The running totals so far are:

26/46 complete

12/21  in progress

To try to have a better idea of what happens in my stash

Balls in/Balls out

0/11  (January)

8/5 (February)

0/3 (March)

16/4.5 (April)