Daily Archives: April 5, 2012

Maybe Crazy has Become the New Normal

So I have found myself asking a question this week: am I just settling into my crazy plans and this is why they no longer seem so outrageous?  Just over a year ago when I started thinking about making my own sock yarn blanket I thought the idea was a little insane.  When I mentioned it to my BFF, she was very supportive, but I could tell she thought I had lost my marbles too.  But, not being one to back down from a challenge, I started stashing sock yarn ends and finally about two months ago, I decided that I had enough to start working on the blanket.

At that point I still thought I was  a little crazy, but I went to the dollar store and found a cute little bucket to hold my ends in and I cast on my first square.  For the record, I could hear the tune from Crazy Train wafting around in the back of my head.  But I kept knitting and knitting and knitting.  And now I have a few more squares finished and I no longer think I’m crazy.  I think I am dedicated.

IMG_1306

I am dedicated to making something that is going to be really pretty.  I am dedicated to making something fully out of scraps or odd gifted balls and that I refuse to buy any new yarn for.  I am dedicated to something that is a huge undertaking, but completely doable.

I’ve decided that I will make the first row 20 squares in width, or maybe slightly bigger if I think it’s necessary.  I want to make it big and cuddly and full of colour.  I want to smile when I see it and I want it to cheer me up on deary winter days. Today, I think it will do those things.  I am sure there will be days when I curse its very existence.
IMG_1375
But for today I will enjoy the sock yarn blanket bliss and run with it.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have another square to knit.  They’re tiny.  No time at all.  Maybe I’ll do two.